MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceAnalysis of Ukrainian Tax Inspection letter about payment of land tax

Analysis of Ukrainian Tax Inspection letter about payment of land tax

Payment of land tax in Ukraine

One of our Clients, owner of restaurant business contacted us after receiving a letter from a district Tax Inspection. The letter stated that our Client was obligated to pay land tax as owner of commercial premises in an apartment building and had to provide declarations about land tax payments from 2009 to 2012. The Client has not being paying this tax for the entire period.

The position of the Tax Inspection stated in the letter was based on:
  • paragraph 4 of Article 14 of the Ukrainian Law "On payment for land" (was in force until January the 1st 2011, hereinafter - the Law) "the land tax for a section on which a building, that is used by several legal entities or individuals is located, is to be paid by each user in proportion to area of the building that is used by him ";
  • section 287.8 of Article 287 of the Tax Code of Ukraine (hereinafter - TC) "Owner of commercial premises (part of it) which is located in an apartment building pays tax to the budget for the area under such premises (their parts) with consideration of the proportional share of area adjacent to a building since the date of real estate property ownership state registration. "

Thus general regulations of taxation obliged the Client to pay land tax during the mentioned period but our detailed analysis of legislation and litigation practice showed that there are several aspects that hinder adherence to the obligations by our Client:

1. Our Client was not taxpayer of land tax:

  • until the 1stof January 2011 the payer was defined as "owner of a land plot, land share and tenant, including rent payer" (part 2 of Article 5 of the Law);
  • when the Tax Code entered into force the land tax was defined as "compulsory payment levied on owners of land and land shares as well as permanent tenants" (Section 14.1.73 of Article 14 of the Tax Code).

Analysis of the legislation and particular situation showed that the Client does not fall under the definition of "land owner" or "tenant" / "permanent land tenant."

2. There are no grounds for land tax being levied:

The data from the State land cadastre serves as tax base (the regulation was stipulated in Article 13 of the Law and was also duplicated in the Tax Code – Section 286.1. of Article 286). Since the State land cadastre contains no data about our Client (he did not enter in rental agreement and did not receive certificate for permanent tenure) there were no legal grounds for the land tax being levied.

Moreover the Resolution of the Higher Commercial Court of Ukraine dated 25 September 2002 (case number 17-3-23/02-2063) confirmed our conclusion that in Client’s situation the land tax could not be levied without violation of the law.

Thus the analysis performed by lawyers of taxation practice provided the Client with legal grounds that allowed not to pay land tax voluntarily which saved him not only a lot of money but also time.

Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме материала

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииАнализ письма налоговой инспекции об уплате налога на землю

Анализ письма налоговой инспекции об уплате налога на землю

Консультирование относительно уплаты налога на землю

Один из наших Клиентов, собственник ресторанного бизнеса, обратился к нам после получения письма от районной налоговой инспекции. Содержание письма сводилось к тому, что наш Клиент как собственник нежилого помещения в многоквартирном доме, должен уплачивать налог на землю, и налоговая инспекция требовала от Клиента предъявления налоговых деклараций по уплате налога на землю с 2009 по 2012 гг., при этом Клиент не уплачивал данный налог все это время.

Позиция налоговой инспекции, изложенная в письме, базировалась на:

  • абзаце четвертом статьи 14 Закона «О плате за землю» (действовал до 1 января 2011 года, далее – Закон) «за земельный участок, на котором расположено здание, которое пребывает в пользовании нескольких юридических лиц или граждан, земельный налог насчитывается пропорционально той части площади здания, которая находится в их пользовании»;
  • пункте 287.8 статьи 287 Налогового кодекса (далее – НК) «Собственник нежилого помещения (его части) в многоквартирном жилом доме уплачивает в бюджет налог за площади под такими помещениями (их частями) с учетом пропорциональной доли придомовой территории с даты государственной регистрации права собственности на недвижимое имущество».

Таким образом, общие нормы налогового законодательства обязывали Клиента уплачивать налог на землю в обозначенный период, но детальный анализ законодательства и судебной практики показал, что существует ряд моментов, препятствующих реализации Клиентом данных норм:

1. Наш Клиент не являлся субъектом платы за землю (плательщиком):

  • до 1 января 2011 года действовало определение плательщика «собственник земельного участка, земельной части (пая) и землепользователь, в том числе арендатор» (ч.2 статьи 5 Закона);
  • с вступлением в действие НК земельный налог был определен, как «обязательный платеж, который взимается с собственников земельных участков и земельных частей (паев), а также постоянных землепользователей» (пункт 14.1.73 статьи 14 НК).

Проведенный анализ законодательства и конкретной ситуации показал, что Клиент не подпадает под определение «собственника земельного участка» или «землепользователя»/«постоянного землепользователя».

2. Отсутствовали основания для начисления Клиенту налога на землю:


Основанием для начисления земельного налога являются данные государственного земельного кадастра (соответствующее положение было определено статьей 13 Закона, а также было перенесено в НК – пункт 286.1. статьи 286). Так как в государственном земельном кадастре отсутствуют данные о Клиенте (он не заключал договор аренды земельного участка и не получал акт на право постоянного пользования землей), то оснований для начисления налога на землю не было.

Кроме того, постановление Высшего хозяйственного суда Украины  от 25 сентября 2002 года по делу N 17-3-23/02-2063 подтвердило, что в ситуации Клиента невозможно начислить налог на землю без нарушений законодательства.

Таким образом, в результате анализа, проведенного юристами налоговой практики, Клиент получил юридические основания, которые позволили ему не уплачивать налог на землю добровольно, что сохранило ему не только значительные средства, но и время.

Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме материала