MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceMinimized financial expenses for a charitable organization and obtained work permits for foreign workers

Minimized financial expenses for a charitable organization and obtained work permits for foreign workers

A client - a group of individual philanthropists - contacted our firm in the fall of 2018. These were the founders and employees of an international charitable foundation, headquartered in London. The main area of ​​activity of the foundation was to help financially disadvantaged elderly people.

Obtaining a work permit was one of the final stages of launching an international charitable network of client in Ukraine.

Our lawyers registered a charitable organization before starting the procedure of obtainment of a work permit. It was headed by a nominee director (one of our lawyers).

The feature is the result of Ukrainian legislation, which does not allow a non-resident to become a head directly.

The restriction did not allow directly to take on projects, since nominee head usually acts only as a signer of documents for obtaining a work permit.

That is why the client wanted:

  • First of all, obtain a permit for the position of a head, who was a director according to charter. This would allow to open bank accounts for the collection of donations and charitable contributions, as well as make a charitable foundation fully functional. Efficiency in the process was the most critical moment for the client.
  • After the beginning of activity, to obtain work permits for other foreigners, who were supposed to hold executive positions and ordinary positions in the organization.

Since foreign workers from different positions and with different nationalities / citizenships had to be involved in the activities of Ukrainian charitable foundation, the following factors had to be properly taken into consideration.

The factor of citizenship influenced an ability to work in Ukraine, as well as reside here for a long time. The matter is that a work permit does not give the right to live in our country, it can only be a ground for obtaining the necessary document (a residence permit).

Therefore, all employees were divided into groups:

  1. workers, who had citizenships of countries for which Ukraine had established a visa-free regime that allowed to stay on the territory of country for up to 90 days without interruption (for example, the United Kingdom) and which, in turn, did not require a longer stay due to the need to constantly travel between charitable organizations in different countries;
  2. workers with citizenship as in group 1, but for whom specificity of positions required a longer stay in the country (more than 90 days);
  3. workers with passports of countries, for which Ukraine has introduced a visa regime.

For the first group a work had to be completed during obtainment of a work permit.

But for groups 2 and 3 legal support at the migration authorities was required in order to obtain a status of a temporary resident (a temporary residence permit).

Delimitation by positions also helped in successful completion of the stage of the project. So, for executive staff, who also were founders of the charitable organization, there was an opportunity to obtain a 3-year permit. While ordinary employees could get only one year permit.

Similar terms were also used for the validity of residence permits (in cases, where they were needed). Of course, the documents could be extended for the same term, but frequent extensions could affect the client's plans.

The requirements of relevant legislation on the minimum wage of a foreigner in Ukraine were one of the important aspects of the procedure. While heads-founders could receive a minimum wage (as for Ukrainian citizens), ordinary foreign workers should have received a fivefold salary companring to the minimum wage for Ukrainians.

Considering the fact that the charitable organization operates based on donations, any additional costs should have been minimized. Therefore, the client had to choose only indispensable foreign staff, and the main activities had to be covered by local employees.

Taking into consideration all the nuances, the lawyers of our firm used the following approach:

  • Obtained work permits in the order, which allowed to start activity first, and then scale it;
  • Obtained residence permits, which provided an opportunity to live in Ukraine (including families) for a number of employees;
  • Considered limited amount of finance when signing employment contracts, setting wages and other administrative costs (focusing on their minimization).

What benefit did the client get by contacting us?

  • Our lawyers provided comprehensive advice on migration, employment and tax legislation. It helped to understand the grounds for obtaining a work permit, as well as to minimize administrative costs (for example, wage payments for certain categories of workers);
  • Provided that it was necessary to obtain a work permit and residence permit at the stage of registration of the charitable foundation and to enter relevant information in the charter.

For example, our lawyers insisted on changing the position proposed by the client "Head of the Foundation" to the "Director", since the former is not in the classifier of professions. It would serve as a reason for a refusal of the Employment Center and would be necessary re-submit documents for work permit, as well as to make changes to the charter of the charitable foundation;

  • Helped to obtain work permits, as well as provided further legal support in order to obtain residence permits through these permits.

If you are the head of a charitable organization and want to extend a work permit for your foreigner worker, our lawyers will provide advice. Call the number


Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION
SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииМинимизировали финансовые расходы для благотворительной организации и получили разрешения на работу для иностранных работников

Минимизировали финансовые расходы для благотворительной организации и получили разрешения на работу для иностранных работников

Осенью 2018 года к нам обратился клиент - группа физических лиц-филантропов. Это были основатели и сотрудники международного благотворительного фонда, со штаб-квартирой в Лондоне. Основной сферой в деятельности фонда должна была стать помощь малообеспеченным пожилым людям.

Получить разрешение на работу - это был один из финальных этапов запуска международной благотворительной сети клиента в Украине.

Перед тем, как приступить к получению разрешения на работу, наши юристы зарегистрировали благотворительную организацию. Ее возглавил номинальный директор (один из наших юристов).

Данная особенность обусловлена ​​украинским законодательством, которое не позволяет нерезиденту сразу стать руководителем.

Данное ограничение не позволяло сразу приступить к реализации проектов, поскольку номинальные руководители обычно выступают лишь в роли подписанта документов для получения разрешения на работу.

Именно поэтому клиент хотел:

  • В первую очередь получить разрешение на позицию основного руководителя, которым согласно уставным документам был директор. Это позволило открыть банковские счета для сбора пожертвований и благотворительных взносов, а также сделать благотворительный фонд полностью функциональным. Оперативность в данном процессе была критическим моментом для клиента.
  • После начала деятельности, получить разрешения на работу и для других иностранцев, которые должны были занимать руководящие и рядовые должности в организации.

Поскольку к работе в украинском благотворительном фонде должны были привлекаться иностранные работники различных позиций и с разным гражданством/ подданством, необходимо было должным образом учесть нижеперечисленные факторы.

Фактор гражданства влиял не только на возможность работать в Украине, но и проживать здесь в течение длительного времени. Дело в том, что само по себе разрешение на работу не дает право жить в нашей стране, оно только может быть основанием для получения необходимого документа (вида на жительство).

Поэтому все работники были разделены на группы:

  1. работники, которые имели гражданство стран, для которых Украина установила безвизовый режим, что давало возможность находиться на территории страны до 90 дней без перерыва (например, Великобритания) и которые, в свою очередь не нуждались более длительного пребывания за необходимостью постоянно путешествовать между благотворительными организациями в различных странах;
  2. работники с гражданством как в группе 1, но у которых специфика должностей требует более длительного пребывания в стране (более 90 дней);
  3. работники с паспортами стран, для которых Украина ввела визовый режим.

Для первой группы работа должна завершиться при получении разрешения на работу.

А вот для групп 2 и 3 требовалось сопровождение в миграционных органах, чтобы получить статус временного резидента (вида на жительство).

Разграничения по должностям также помогло при реализации данной стадии проекта. Так, для руководящего персонала который еще и выступил учредителями благотворительной организации, предусмотрели возможность получить 3-летнее разрешение. В то время как рядовые работники могли рассчитывать только на разрешение на 1 год.

Аналогичные сроки применялись и для действия вида на жительство (в случаях, когда они были нужны). Конечно, данные документы можно было продлить на такой же срок, однако частые продолжения могли влиять на планы клиента.

Другим важным моментом были требования действующего законодательства о минимальной заработной плате иностранца в Украине. В то время как руководители-основатели могли получать минимальную заработную плату (как для граждан Украины), рядовые сотрудники-иностранцы должны были получать зарплату в пятикратном размере относительно минимальной зарплаты для украинцев.

Несмотря на то, что благотворительная организация функционирует за счет пожертвований, любые дополнительные расходы нужно было минимизировать. Поэтому клиенту пришлось выбрать только незаменимый рядовой иностранный персонал, а основную деятельность обеспечить за счет местных работников.

Принимая во внимание все нюансы, юристы использовали такой подход к делу:

  • Получили разрешения на работу в таком порядке, который позволил сначала запустить деятельность, а затем масштабировать ее.
  • Для ряда работников получили виды на жительство, которые обеспечили возможность проживать в Украине (в том числе с семьями)
  • Учли ограниченность финансов при подписании трудовых договоров, установлении заработной платы и других административных затрат (направленность на их минимизацию).

Какую пользу получил клиент, обратившись к нам?

  • Наши юристы предоставили комплексный консалтинг по вопросам миграционного, трудового и налогового законодательства. Это помогло понять, что является основанием для получения разрешения на работу, а также минимизировать административные расходы (например, выплаты заработной платы для отдельных категорий работников);
  • Предположили, что необходимо получить разрешение на работу и виды на жительство еще на стадии регистрации благотворительного фонда внести соответствующую информацию в уставные документы.
  • Например, наши юристы настояли изменить предложенную клиентом должность «Председатель фонда» на «Директор», поскольку первой нет в классификаторе профессий. Это послужило бы причиной для отказа в Центре занятости и пришлось бы не только повторно подать документы на разрешение на работу, но и вносить изменения в уставные документы благфонда.
  • Помогли получить разрешения на работу, а также предоставили дальнейшую юридическую поддержку, чтобы благодаря этим разрешениям получить виды на жительство.

Если вы руководитель благотворительной организации, и хотите продлить разрешение на работу у вашего работника-иностранца, наши юристы предоставят консультацию. Обращайтесь по телефону: 0800330967

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ
Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи