MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceOur legal advices helped the Client to save money on unpromising litigation

Our legal advices helped the Client to save money on unpromising litigation

  • Author: Volodymyr Gurlov
  • Standardized procedures: Legal advice
  • Date of publication: 21/08/18

In July 2018, our company was contacted by a Client, a representative of a housing association (hereinafter - the Association), with a request of filing a lawsuit against the former chairman of the association for embezzlement.

Given the fact that this process is time and money consuming, we advised the Client to first thoroughly study the issue and assess the chances of success. Thus, this work has become a vivid example of consulting as a first step and as a part of a significant potential service (in this case, the prosecution of the former Chairman of the Association).

Article 1191 of the Civil Code provides for the right of recourse against the guilty party. However, the only provision of the law is not sufficient to draft a statement of claim for damages. It is necessary to correctly identify the defendant, prove his/her guilt and provide appropriate evidence to the stated claims.

A detailed study of the Charter of the Association has shown that the governing body of the Association is the Board of Directors. According to the Charter, the Chairman of the Board of Directors ensures only the day to day running of the Association and the implementation of the decisions of the General Meeting and the Board of Directors, while the Board of Directors is responsible for conclusion of agreements and disposal of the funds of the Association, according to the income and expenditure budget approved by the General Meeting.

History of the cases like this shows that the courts, when deciding on matters of compensation for damages, proceed on the basis that the damage caused to the property of a legal entity (in particular, the Association) is subject to compensation only if the official acted unlawfully and his/her actions were guilty (i.e. he/she acted intentionally), and there is a direct causal relationship between the actions of the person and the damage.

Thus, in the Client’s situation, the claim for compensation for damages shall be issued against the Board of directors. However, the composition of the Managing Board is not specified in the Unified State Register of Legal Entities, Individual Entrepreneurs and Public Organizations of Ukraine, and the Client did not have any documents identifying the exact members of the Board of Directors at the time of the embezzlement.

Moreover, the damage was caused by actions which deemed to be a right and not an obligation, according to the law, i.e. the activities of the Board of Directors did not involve wrongful or illegal acts (actions or inactions).

Taking into account the data of the analysis, it was necessary to file a lawsuit against the Board of Directors, however, due to the lack of documentary proof of the specific individuals serving as members of the Board of Directors, a weak position on the confirmation of the illegality of their actions and, consequently, the causal relationship between the actions and consequences, we suggested the Client to abandon this attempt.

This case has served to emphasize once again the importance of the consultation services to the Client if his/her key goal is to get compensation for damages, rather than to satisfy personal emotional needs by prosecuting the former Chairman of the Association. In order to prevent irresponsible behaviour of the employees of legal entities, the owners should seek such services not upon detection of theft, but in order to prevent such cases and ensure a high level of the employees’ responsibility for the corrupt practices. This will contribute to avoiding such situations in the future.

Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION
SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииНаши консультации помогли Клиенту сэкономить средства на бесперспективном судебном преследовании

Наши консультации помогли Клиенту сэкономить средства на бесперспективном судебном преследовании

В июле 2018 года в нашу компанию обратился Клиент - представитель жилищно-строительного кооператива с запросом на привлечение бывшего председателя кооператива к имущественной ответственности за растрату средств.

Учитывая продолжительность подобных процессов и их значительную стоимость, мы посоветовали Клиенту сначала провести основательное изучение данного вопроса и выяснения шансов на успешное завершение подобной работы в его случае. Таким образом, данная работа стала ярким примером консультирования как первого этапа и части возможно большей услуги (в данном случае судебного преследования бывшего Главы кооператива).

Право обратного требования к виновному лицу предусмотрено статьей 1191 Гражданского кодекса Украины. Однако, для формирования искового заявления о возмещении убытков недостаточно одной только нормы закона, необходимо правильно определить ответчика, доказать его вину и предоставить надлежащие доказательства в подтверждение заявленных требований.

Детальное изучение устава кооператива показало, что исполнительным органом этого кооператива является Правление. Председатель правления согласно Уставу, обеспечивает только повседневное руководство деятельностью кооператива и выполнение решений Общего собрания и Правления, а заключает соглашения и распоряжается средствами кооператива именно Правление, согласно утвержденным Общим собранием сметой доходов и расходов.

Из практики подобных дел мы знаем, что суды при решении вопроса возмещения ущерба, исходят из того, что вред, причиненный имуществу юридического лица (в частности, кооператива), подлежит возмещению лишь при условии, что должностное лицо действовало неправомерно, и его действия являются виновными (т.е. он действовал умышленно), а между действиями такого лица и ущербом является непосредственный причинная связь.

Таким образом, в ситуации Клиента ответчиком по иску о возмещении ущерба должно быть Правление. Однако, состав Правления не указывается в ЕГР а у Клиента отсутствовали документы, которые бы доказывали кто именно в период, когда произошло хищение, входил в состав Правления.

Более того, ущерб был нанесен действиями, которые согласно законодательству, были правом, а не обязанностью, то есть неправомерного деяния (действия или бездействия) со стороны Правления также не было.

Учитывая данные анализа, судиться необходимо было с Правлением, однако ввиду отсутствия документального подтверждения пребывания конкретных лиц на должности членов Правления, слабую позицию относительно подтверждения неправомерности их действий и в соответственно связи между действиями и последствиями, мы предложили Клиенту отказаться от этого намерения.

Этот случай лишний раз подчеркнул Клиенту полезность консультационных услуг в случаях, когда целью действий является взыскание средств, а не удовлетворение эмоциональных потребностей от преследования бывшего Председателя кооператива. Также, во избежание безответственности сотрудников юридических лиц, владельцам стоит пользоваться подобными услугами не по факту обнаружения хищений, а на предупреждение, обеспечивая высокий уровень ответственности работников за подобные злоупотребления. Это позволит избежать их в будущем.

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи