MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceWe managed to close the bankruptcy proceedings in Ukraine within 2 weeks and save multimillion business

We managed to close the bankruptcy proceedings in Ukraine within 2 weeks and save multimillion business

Просмотров: 3141

We were addressed by a Client (leading enterprise in the field of agriculture in Ukraine) with the following issue: in September of 2010 the Commercial court initiated bankruptcy case against our Client, set moratorium on creditors’ demands satisfaction and seized property of the enterprise.

The bankruptcy case initiation was caused by a mistake of in-house counsel of the company during his work with claims of creditors. After he had lost litigation related to 300 000 UAH debt he decided to cause delays in enforcement of the decision which provided grounds for bankruptcy proceedings initiation (the enforcement proceeding had been lasting for more than 3 months) and resulted in consequences described above.

The complexity of the situation was caused by the fact that if bankruptcy notice had been published, 4 banks would have demand repayment of credits (about 20 million USD) and a great many of other creditors would demand fulfillment of debt obligations too. This would destroy the business. This is exactly why it was so crucial to close bankruptcy proceedings and terminate a seizure within shortest term.

Legal complexity of the situation was caused by the fact that even in case of debt repayment the continuation of bankruptcy proceedings or its closure would depend on the commercial court. And Ukrainian judicial practice was not in favor of our Client. Article 1, 12 of the Law of Ukraine “On recovery of debtor’s solvency or recognition of him as bankrupt” and Recommendations of the Higher Commercial Court of Ukraine contain provisions that prohibit termination of bankruptcy proceedings in such cases and recognize such repayment of debt as unlawful because it violates rights and interests of other creditors and parties of the bankruptcy case (Subsection 1.2., 8.2. of Recommendations of the High Commercial Court of Ukraine Presidium dated 04.06.2004 number 04-5/1193).

While providing legal support of the case in commercial court of first instance attorneys of our firm managed to close bankruptcy proceeding in less than 2 weeks.

Our attorneys proved two key points:

  • The fact that the debt had been paid (despite unwillingness of a creditor to provide such information to the court and the fact that obtainment of the information in a different way was practically impossible due to bank secrecy);
  • That fulfillment of all debt related requirements of initiating creditor prior to publication of notice about initiation of bankruptcy proceeding in official printed media is a ground for closure of bankruptcy proceeding. Such right of a debtor is not directly stipulated in the law but such interpretation can be derived based on content of Art. 40 of the Law of Ukraine “On recovery of debtor’s solvency or recognition of him as bankrupt”

Position of our lawyers and commercial court of first instance was later upheld by the decisions of court of appeal and court of cassation. Threat of bankruptcy and loss of multimillion business has been eliminated.

Later the Client had signed agreement of external legal support of his activities in Ukraine with our firm and did not have any such stresses in future.


Просмотров: 3141
Related materials
All related materials

Topic
related services: Litigation Legal representation
Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме материала

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииПрекратили за 2 недели производство в деле о банкротстве и сохранили многомиллионный бизнес

Прекратили за 2 недели производство в деле о банкротстве и сохранили многомиллионный бизнес

Просмотров: 3221

В нашу компанию обратился Клиент (ведущее предприятие украинского сельскохозяйственного сектора) со следующим вопросом: в сентябре 2010 года в отношении Клиента Хозяйственным судом было возбуждено дело о банкротстве, заявлен мораторий на удовлетворение требований кредиторов и наложен арест на имущество предприятия.

Причиной возбуждения дела о банкротстве стала ошибка штатного юриста компании в ходе работы с претензиями кредиторов. Проиграв в судебном процессе сумму задолженности в 300 тыс. грн.,  он принял решение затягивать исполнение решения, что привело к возникновению оснований для возбуждения процедуры банкротства (более трех месяцев открытого исполнительного производства) и вышеописанным последствиям.

Сложность ситуации состояла также в том, что в случае выхода в свет объявления о банкротстве, свои требования к компании заявили бы 4 банка на общую сумму более 20 млн. долларов США, а также большое количество иных кредиторов. Это бы уничтожило бизнес. Поэтому, снять арест и закрыть дело о банкротстве необходимо было в кратчайшие сроки.

Юридическая сложность заключалась в том, что даже в случае оплаты долга, решение вопроса о продолжении процедуры банкротства или её прекращении полностью зависело от хозяйственного суда, а судебная практика была не на стороне Клиента. Так и в ст.1,12 Закона Украины «О восстановлении платежеспособности должника или признании его банкротом» и в Рекомендациях Высшего хозяйственного суда предписывалось не допускать в таких случаях прекращения дела о банкротстве и расценивать такое погашение долга как противоправное поведение должника, нарушающее права и законные интересы других кредиторов и участников дела о банкротстве (п. 1.2., 8.2. Рекомендаций Президиума ВХС Украины от 04.06.2004 года №04-5/1193).

Юристы нашей компании в ходе сопровождения данного дела в хозяйственном суде первой инстанции сумели менее чем за две недели прекратить производство в деле о банкротстве.

Мы сумели доказать два ключевых момента:

  • Факт оплаты долга (несмотря на нежелание кредитора предоставлять такую информацию суду, а получить её иным способом было практически невозможно вследствие банковской тайны);
  • То, что погашение всех денежных требований инициирующего кредитора до осуществления публикации объявления о возбуждении дела о банкротстве в официальных печатных органах является основанием для прекращения дела о банкротстве. Такое право должника прямо не предусмотрено в законе, однако исходит из смысла ст. 40 Закона Украины «О восстановлении платежеспособности должника или признании его банкротом»

Позиция юристов нашей компании и хозяйственного суда первой инстанции в дальнейшем была поддержана в решениях апелляционной и кассационной инстанции. Угроза банкротства и потери многомиллионного бизнеса была устранена.

В дальнейшем данный Клиент подписал договор о полном юридическом обслуживании нашей компанией его интересов и более не подвергался подобным стрессам.


Просмотров: 3221
Связанная практика
Все связанные публикации

Услуги по теме
данного материала Судебная практика Представительство в суде
Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме материала