MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceHelped to open office of an American law firm in Ukraine and obtained a residence permit for the managing partner

Helped to open office of an American law firm in Ukraine and obtained a residence permit for the managing partner

A representative of a law firm from the United States of America, who had an intention to open office in Ukraine for achieving specific goals of his American clients in our jurisdiction, retained our services in the spring of 2018.

Since a long organization and recruiting period was waiting for him in the future, first of all, our Client was interested in the possibility of legalization of his long-term stay in the country. Having previously visited Ukraine, he knew that the stay of foreign citizens, even those who do not need a visa, is limited to 90 days during 180. Although our client often travelled and left the territory of Ukraine for a long time on a regular basis, which in most cases allows to circumvent the restriction, he was interested in a legally correct solution to this situation in which he could decide by himself when to leave the territory of our state instead of having to adjust to 90/180 rule.

Considering the necessity to open a firm in Ukraine, our lawyers suggested using this as a basis for obtaining a residence permit which would allow our client to travel without restrictions for 3 years. The solution satisfied the Client completely and after agreeing on the terms of cooperation our lawyers started to provide services.

The work consisted of the following stages:

1) Our corporate lawyers secured the identification code for our client and registered the company with him as a member (since he was a name partner in the American company, there was no problem to register him as founder of the Ukrainian one). The choice of organizational form was made in favor of LLC, which is the most universal form of conducting business in Ukraine.

2) Our team of immigration lawyers, who prepared the required set of documents, started the work at the final stages of completing the registration of the firm. As soon as the information about the firm appeared in the official register of the Ministry of Justice, we immediately submitted documents for an employment permit that serves two purposes :

  • allows foreign citizens to hold the necessary positions in Ukrainian companies;
  • is a ground for obtaining a residence permit.

3) After successful obtainment of the permit our Client received a set of documents with which he had to obtain a special visa of type D for entry into Ukraine. The stage is the only one during which we cannot represent the interests of the client based on the power of attorney or at least be present with him. At the same time, our lawyers are constantly ready to answer a call from the Client on the day of interview at the embassy of Ukraine and try to simplify the communication with the officers of the diplomatic body as much as possible.

4) Upon obtaining the type D visa, the Client could not immediately arrive in Ukraine for several reasons. It significantly complicated the final stage, namely obtaining a residence permit, since the visa of type D is issued for 90 days. In addition, the applicant has to have at least 15 working days of stay on the specified visa at the time of submitting of documents. The Client planned his arrival on the day before the end of 15 working days, which our lawyers had been notified of in advance so all the necessary preparations were made. Despite the deadlines, the residence permit was obtained successfully.

5) The final stage was the registration of our Client's place of residence.

The case demonstrates our approach to providing services to foreign clients who are completely unfamiliar with Ukrainian jurisdiction. We do not only prepare the documents, as many other lawyers do, but also provide legal support to the Client at all stages of starting a business, obtaining permits etc. In all possible cases, we try to avoid or at least minimize the interaction between the Client and public authorities for his or her maximum comfort.

Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION
SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииПомогли открыть офис американской юридической фирмы в Украине и получили вид на жительство для управляющего партнера

Помогли открыть офис американской юридической фирмы в Украине и получили вид на жительство для управляющего партнера

Весной 2018 за нашими услугами обратился представитель юридической компании из США, который намеревался открыть свой офис в Украине для выполнения специфических задач своих американских клиентов в нашей юрисдикции.

Поскольку впереди его ждал длительный организационно-рекрутинговый период, прежде всего нашего Клиента интересовала возможность легализации своего долгосрочного пребывания в стране. Предварительно посещая Украины, он знал, что пребывание иностранных граждан, даже тех, которым не нужна виза для проживания, ограниченное 90 днями на протяжении 180 дней. Хотя наш клиент часто путешествовал и покидал территорию Украины на длительное время, что позволяет в значительной степени обойти указанное ограничение, его интересовало юридически правильное решение этой ситуации, при котором он мог бы самостоятельно решать, когда покидать территорию нашего государства вместо необходимости подстраиваться под правило 90/180.

Учитывая необходимость открытия компании в Украине, наши юристы предложили использовать это как основание для получения вида на жительство, который позволил нашему клиенту в течение 3 лет беспрепятственно путешествовать. Данное решение полностью удовлетворило Клиента и после согласования условий сотрудничества наши юристы приступили к оказанию услуг.

Работа структурировалась следующим образом:

1) Юристы отдела корпоративного права обеспечили получение идентификационного кода для нашего Клиента и зарегистрировали с его участием компанию (поскольку он был именным партнером в американской компании, с вводом его участником в украинскую компанию проблем не возникало). Выбор организационной формы припал на ООО, что является наиболее универсальной формой для ведения бизнеса в Украине.

2) На финальных стадиях завершения регистрации компании, в работу вступила наша команда миграционных юристов, которые подготовили необходимый пакет документов, и как только информация о зарегистрированной компании появилась в официальном реестре Министерства юстиции, они немедленно подали документы на разрешение на работу, которое необходимо для двух целей:

  • позволяет иностранным гражданам занимать необходимые должности в украинских компаниях;
  • является основанием для получения вида на жительство.

3) После успешного получения разрешения, Клиенту был передан соответствующий пакет документов, с которым он должен был получить специальную визу типа Д для въезда в Украину. Данный этап является единственным, на котором мы не можем представить интересы Клиента по доверенности или по крайней мере присутствовать вместе с ним. В то же время наши юристы в день собеседования в посольстве Украины постоянно готовы принять звонок от Клиента и стараются максимально упростить общение с сотрудниками дипломатического учреждения.

4) Получив визу типа Д, Клиент по ряду причин не смог сразу прилететь в Украину. Это значительно усложняло последнюю стадию, а именно получение вида на жительство, поскольку виза Д выдается на 90 дней. При этом на момент подачи документов у заявителя должно оставаться не менее 15 рабочих дней пребывания по указанной визе. Свой визит Клиент запланировал на предпоследний день до истечения 15 рабочих дней, о чем наши юристы были заранее оповещены и провели все необходимые приготовления. Несмотря на сжатые сроки, вид был получен успешно.

5) Финальным шагом стала регистрация места проживания нашего Клиента.

Данный кейс демонстрирует наш подход к предоставлению услуг иностранным клиентам, которые абсолютно незнакомы с украинской юрисдикцией. Мы не просто готовим документы, как это делают многие другие юристы, а сопровождаем Клиента на всех стадиях открытия бизнеса, получения разрешительных документов и тому подобное. Во всех возможных случаях мы стараемся избежать или хотя бы минимизировать взаимодействие Клиента с государственными органами для его максимального комфорта.

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи