MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceWe’ve won a court case in Ukraine about debt recovery for the non-resident company

We’ve won a court case in Ukraine about debt recovery for the non-resident company

Lawyers of firm’s Litigation practice have successfully completed the litigation on debt recovery in favor of non-resident company: the court confirmed the position set forth in the claim despite some shortcomings of the main agreement which regulated disputable relationship.

Background of the dispute was rather trivial: relations of supplying goods from abroad had a rapid development even the "pre-crisis" period. Resident company regularly paid for the goods and convinced the supplier (foreign legal entity) about its integrity and in some way lulled the vigilance of the counterparty about documenting their relationships. This led to the fact that after the cessation of payments and primary analysis of documents it was found out that the agreement, under which the indebtedness occurred, contained stipulations about payments being made along with the sale of goods.

The supplier had information that the goods had already being sold but the buyer refused to make payments asserting of the contrary. At this stage non-resident contacted us for advice, the conclusions of which became the basis for the claim.

Our lawyers managed to build cogent probative line and decisions of courts of first instance and appeal confirmed it. In particular, the work was organized by the formation of a package of documents confirming delivery (bills, invoices, bills of lading (sent at the request of the French office-carrier), on which was clearly defined the amount was owed.

But the key issue turned out to be payment term defining. By applying provisions of the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods 1980 to the legal dispute (in part relating to determination of payment term) it was proved that the stipulation of the contract about payment term (fact of sale) does not define the actual term of payment. According to this the payment should be made at the moment of delivery or when passing supporting documents.

Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме материала

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииВыигранный суд по задолженности в пользу компании-нерезидента

Выигранный суд по задолженности в пользу компании-нерезидента

Выиграли суд по договору международной купли-продажи

Юристами судебной практики нашей компании успешно завершен судебный процесс по взысканию задолженности в пользу компании-нерезидента: суд поддержал позицию, изложенную в иске, несмотря на некоторые недочеты основного договора, регулировавшего спорные отношения.

Предыстория конфликта довольно обыденная: отношения по поставке товара из-за рубежа получили свое бурное развитие еще в «докризисный» период. Компания-резидент исправно оплачивала поставляемый товар, чем убедила поставщика (иностранное юрлицо) в своей добросовестности и, в некотором роде, усыпило бдительность относительно документального оформления взаимоотношений. Это привело к тому, что после прекращения оплат и первичного анализа документов, оказалось, что договор, по которому возникла задолженность, содержит положение об оплате товара по мере его реализации.

Поставщик имел информацию о том, что товар реализован, однако Покупатель отказывался производить оплату, указывая на обратное. На этом этапе нерезидент обратился к нам за консультацией, выводы которой позже были положены в основу иска.

Юристам нашей компании удалось правильно выстроить доказательную линию, что подтверждается позитивным решением судов как первой, так и апелляционной инстанции. В частности, была организована работа по формированию пакета документов, подтверждающего поставки (накладные, инвойсы, коносаменты (были запрошены у французского офиса компании-перевозчика), на основании которых было четко определено сумму задолженности.

Но ключевым вопросом оказался момент определения сроков оплаты. Применив к спорным правоотношениям положения Конвенции ООН о договорах международной купли-продажи 1980 года (в части определения сроков оплаты), было доказано, что установление в договоре термина оплаты (факт реализации) не является установлением срока оплаты. Исходя из этого, оплата должна осуществляться в момент поставки либо передачи сопроводительных документов.

Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме материала