MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceRegistered a periodical for physical entity

Registered a periodical for physical entity

A client, who wanted to register his own periodical, contacted our firm in November 2018. It was supposed to be a bilingual magazine (in Ukrainian and English languages), which will cover events in Ukraine and in the world. The client was a member of one legal entity, and was also registered as a sole proprietor.

Thus, the client was interested in the following questions:

  • who is better to register a magazine for - a legal entity or a sole proprietor;
  • what is required for registering a magazine;
  • how long does a registration procedure last?

Our lawyers gave the client a legal advice, in which they answered the following questions:

1. Who is better to register a magazine for? According to Article 8 of the Law of Ukraine "On Printed Mass Media (Press) in Ukraine", founders of printed mass media can be citizens of Ukraine, citizens of other states, stateless persons, who are not limited in civil legal capacity and capability, as well as legal entities. The law does not stipulate the right of a sole proprietor to register mass media. Therefore, we recommended the client an optimal option, namely, to become a founder of a magazine as a citizen of Ukraine.

2. What is required for registering a magazine?
It is enough to submit to the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine only an application and a copy of a passport in order to register a magazine by a citizen of Ukraine. However, as practice shows, not many citizens can correctly fill out the application from the first time. Therefore, they get a refusal in registration or their applications generally remain without consideration. In general, applications are considered within one month. Thus, founders lose a plenty of time on several attempts to register mass media by themselves.


An application for registration of a mass media must contain complete information on a founder, including a list of related persons and their identification numbers. Related persons are family members of the founder: husband / wife (spouse), children and parents, stepmother and stepfather, siblings, their children and husbands / wives. Furthermore, the application for registration must contain full information on the future printed periodical: its type, title, distribution, program objectives and topics, periodicity, languages, in which it will be published, etc.

3. How long does a registration procedure of mass media last? According to Article 13 of the Law of Ukraine “On Printed Mass Media (Press) in Ukraine”, an application for registration of mass media is considered within one month. Consequently, a decision on the registration of the mass media or on the refusal in registration or on suspension of the application consideration term. After the Ministry of Justice made a decision on registration of the mass media, the decision is submitted to signature to a minister for a certain period of time. In fact, from the moment of submitting the application to obtainment of a registration certificate takes an average of one and a half months.

A contract for the provision of legal services was concluded after giving a legal advice to the client, and the client obtained a Certificate of a Magazine Registration in the previously agreed terms.


If you are interested in mass media registration, you can contact for details of cooperation at the number: 0 800 330 967


Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION
SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS
+38 044 499 47 99

Зарегистрировали периодическое издание для физического лица

В ноябре 2018 года к нам обратился Клиент, который хотел зарегистрировать собственное периодическое издание. Это должен был быть двуязычный журнал (на украинском и английском языках), который будет освещать события в Украине и мире. Клиент был участником одного юридического лица, а также был зарегистрирован как физическое лицо-предприниматель.

Поэтому Клиента интересовало:

  • на кого лучше регистрировать журнал - на юридическое лицо или на ФОП;
  • что нужно для регистрации журнала;
  • сколько длится процедура регистрации.

Наши юристы предоставили клиенту консультацию, в которой представлены вопросы:

1) На кого лучше зарегистрировать журнал. Согласно ст. 8 ЗУ «О печатных средствах массовой информации (прессе) в Украине», учредителями печатных средств массовой информации могут быть граждане Украины, граждане других государств, лица без гражданства, которые не ограничены в гражданской правоспособности и дееспособности, а также юридические лица. Данным законом не предусмотрено право физического лица-предпринимателя на регистрацию. Поэтому мы порекомендовали Клиенту оптимальный вариант - стать основателем журнала как гражданин Украины.
2) Что нужно для регистрации журнала. Для регистрации журнала гражданину Украины достаточно подать в Министерство юстиции Украины только заявление и копию паспорта. Но как показывает практика, далеко не все граждане могут правильно заполнить данное заявление с первого раза. Поэтому получают отказ в регистрации или их заявления вообще остаются без рассмотрения. В общем, рассмотрение данных заявлений происходит в течение одного месяца. Таким образом, учредители теряют много времени на несколько попыток самостоятельно зарегистрировать средство массовой информации.

Заявление о регистрации должно содержать полные данные об учредителе, включая перечень связанных с ним лиц и их идентификационные номера. Связанными лицами считаются члены семьи основателя: муж/жена, дети и родители, мачеха и отчим, родные братья, сестры, их дети и мужья/жены. Заявление о регистрации должно также содержать полную информацию о будущем печатном издании: его вид, название, сфера распространения, программные цели и тематика, периодичность, языки, на которых будет выдаваться и тому подобное.

3) Сколько длится процедура регистрации СМИ. Согласно ст. 13 ЗУ «О печатных средствах массовой информации (прессе) в Украине», заявление о регистрации рассматривается в течение одного месяца. В результате может быть принято решение о регистрации или об отказе в регистрации или приостановлении рассмотрения заявления. После принятия Минюстом решения о регистрации, само решение еще некоторое время находится на подписи у министра. По факту, с момента подачи заявления до получения свидетельства о регистрации проходит в среднем полтора месяца.

После получения Клиентом консультации был заключен договор о предоставлении юридических услуг, а в предварительно оговоренные сроки Клиент получил Свидетельство о регистрации журнала.

 

Если Вас интересует регистрация СМИ, за деталями сотрудничества можно обратиться по телефону: 0 800 330 967

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ
Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи