MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceRegistered a representative office of a foreign company in Ukraine within tight deadline

Registered a representative office of a foreign company in Ukraine within tight deadline

In January 2018, our company received a request from the U.S. company for legal support and assistance in opening its representative office in Ukraine. The Client inquired if the company’s representative had to come to Ukraine, how long the procedure would take and what documents the company had to provide. With extensive experience in registering the foreign company representative offices, our lawyers provided the Client with legal advice on the registration procedure, as the Client was interested in the entire process, and assured him that the company’s representative was not required to come to Ukraine to register a representative office of the parent company. Our specialists could perform all the necessary actions on the basis of a power of attorney. American employees might be required only to come to Ukraine to personally obtain work cards after the representative office would be registered.

Upon signing the Legal Services Agreement with the American company, our lawyers developed the company’s decision on the registration of a representative office in Ukraine and appointment of a head of the representative office, prepared a draft of the parent company’s power of attorney for the head of the representative office, so that he/she was entitled to act in its name and on its behalf, as well as to represent the company at all Ukrainian governmental and non-governmental agencies. Our specialists also prepared the parent company’s power of attorney for our specialists, so that we could register its representative office acting in the name and on behalf of the foreign company at the state authorities of Ukraine. Our lawyers informed the Client about the need to get a certificate from the financial institution verifying the opening of a parent company’s bank account, as such a document shall be also included in the representative office registration package.

Upon the receipt of the requested information and signed documents that were previously drafted by our employees, our lawyers proceeded to the registration of the representative office. The most time-consuming stage of the procedure is the registration of the representative office at the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine. It is interesting to note that there is no time limits stipulated by the law of Ukraine for the document processing by the Ministry. However, the law provides that the certificate of the representative office registration shall be issued no later than within sixty (60) working days after payment of the state fee. Therefore, we advised the Client to pay the state fee in advance so that we could submit the payment confirmation together with the main package of documents for registration. Thus, the confirmation of the state fee payment guarantees that the document processing time will not exceed sixty working days.

Due to the fact that our lawyers have extensive experience in registering representative offices, and always agree on all draft documents with the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine just prior to signing them, the certificate of registration was issued within a month and a half. This means the Client obtained the certificate of registration in about thirty working days after the documents were submitted to the Ministry. It’s almost half less than the maximum processing time stipulated by law.

Registration at the State Statistics Service of Ukraine and the State Fiscal Service of Ukraine took another three working days. Once that was done the representative office of the American company could legally start its business activity in Ukraine. Two weeks after receiving the representative office registration certificate, foreign workers’ work cards were waiting for their owners in the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine. Our lawyers cannot receive them on behalf of the parent company under the power of attorney, as these are identity documents. Therefore, the cards shall be obtained personally by those individuals (foreign workers) to whom they are issued, or by their representatives acting under a notarized power of attorney granted by each individual, but not the company. Although this issue is not stipulated by the current legislation, we informed the Client in advance that it is commonly practiced at the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine. The Client did not prepare power of attorneys from each employee, as each of them was ready to come to Ukraine and work there right after the registration of the representative office. Therefore, all the workers agreed upon the time with our English-speaking lawyer  to visit the Ministry of Economic Development and get their work cards personally.

The Client was greatly pleased to receive such prompt and professional services, as well as to enter the Ukrainian market sooner than expected. And we are always glad to exceed our Clients’ expectations.

If you need to register a representative office in Ukraine, please click here to read more about our services.

Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION
SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииЗарегистрировали представительство иностранной компании в Украине в сжатые сроки

Зарегистрировали представительство иностранной компании в Украине в сжатые сроки

В январе 2018 году к нам обратилась компания из США, которая планировала открыть представительство в Украине. Данного Клиента интересовало, придется ли их представителю ехать в Украину, сколько времени это займет и что требуется от самой компании. Наши юристы, имея опыт регистрации представительств иностранных компаний, предоставили Клиенту консультацию о процедуре регистрации, поскольку Клиента интересовало, как это будет выглядеть, и заверили о том, что делегировать своего представителя в Украину для регистрации представительства материнской компании не придется, все сделают наши специалисты по доверенности. Личное присутствие американских работников может понадобиться только по завершении регистрации представительства с целью получения служебных карточек.

Подписав с американской компанией контракт о предоставлении юридических услуг, наши юристы разработали решение данной компании о регистрации представительства в Украине и назначении руководителя представительства, составили доверенность материнской компании на руководителя представительства, чтобы он мог действовать от его имени во всех украинских государственных и негосударственных органах, а также доверенность материнской компании на наших специалистов, чтобы мы могли представлять иностранную компанию в украинских государственных органах и банковских учреждениях с целью регистрации представительства и постановки его на учет. Наши юристы проинформировали Клиента о получении справки от банковского учреждения про открытие счета материнской компанией, поскольку такой документ также входит в пакет на регистрацию представительства.

После получения от иностранной компании запрашиваемой информации и подписанных документов, проекты которых были разработаны нашими сотрудниками, мы приступили к регистрации представительства. Большую часть времени этой процедуры занимает непосредственно регистрация в Министерстве экономического развития Украины. Интересно, что законодательство не устанавливает сроков рассмотрения документов указанным Министерством. Однако законодательством предусмотрено, что свидетельство о регистрации представительства выдается не позднее чем через шестьдесят рабочих дней после внесения государственной пошлины. Поэтому мы рекомендовали клиенту оплатить государственную пошлину заранее, чтобы подтверждения платежа мы могли подать вместе с основным пакетом документов на регистрацию. Таким образом, подача подтверждения оплаты за регистрацию представительства гарантирует, что документы будут рассматриваться не более шестидесяти рабочих дней.

Однако в силу того, что на основе наших проектов было зарегистрировано уже не одно представительство, а каждый новый проект пакета документов мы до подписания согласовываем с Минэкономразвития, свидетельство о регистрации для нашего Клиента было выдано уже через полтора месяца. То есть примерно через тридцать рабочих дней с момента подачи, почти наполовину меньше установленного законодательством максимального срока рассмотрения.

Постановка на учет в статистическом управлении и фискальной службе заняла еще три рабочих дня. После этого представительство американской компании было полностью готово функционировать в Украине. Через две недели после получения свидетельства о регистрации представительства в Минэкономразвития служебные карточки для иностранных работников ждали своих владельцев. Наши юристы не могут получить их на руки по доверенности от материнской компании, поскольку это документы, удостоверяющие личность. Поэтому их должны забирать лично те физические лица (иностранные работники), кому они выданы, или их представители по нотариальной доверенности от каждого физического лица, а не от компании. Хотя этот момент не урегулирован законодательством, однако в Минэкономразвития сложилась такая практика, о чем мы Клиента предупреждали заранее. Клиент не стал делать доверенности от каждого работника, поскольку все были готовы после регистрации представительства прибыть в Украину и остаться работать. Поэтому все они в согласованное время, вместе с англоязычным юристом нашей компании, посетили Минэкономразвития и получили служебные карточки лично.

Клиент был доволен оперативностью нашей компании и возможностью выйти на украинский рынок быстрее, чем ожидалось. Мы, в свою очередь, всегда рады превзойти ожидания.

Если Вас интересует регистрация представительства в Украине, подробнее с нашими услугами можно ознакомиться по ссылке или позвонив нашим специалистам: +38 (044) 3319510.

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ
Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи