MainPublications of our law firmPublications in mediaOur lawyer's comments for "Segodnya" newspaper

Our lawyer's comments for "Segodnya" newspaper

Volodymyr Misyurak, a lawyer of law firm "Pravova Dopomoga" provided his comments for Segodnya newspaper.

The material was published on the 31st of July 2013.   

Question:

“I would like to ask a question about registration of marriage. Is it possible to register marriage in one of Ukrainian civil registries if both husband and wife are citizens of the Russian Federation? Thank you in advance” - Illya Rusenkov.

The advice is provided by Volodymyr Misyurak, a lawyer of law firm “Pravova Dopomoga”:

“The answer to your question is unambiguous. Registration is possible. Article 26 of the Constitution of Ukraine provides that foreigners who live in Ukraine on legal grounds enjoy the same rights and liberties as well as bear same responsibilities as Ukrainian citizens except for cases that are set by the Constitution, laws and international agreements of Ukraine. Article 56 of the Law of Ukraine “On international private law” provides that form and procedure of marriage of foreigners in Ukraine are set by Ukrainian legislation. The main document which regulates the matters of marriage between foreigners in Ukraine is the Family Code of Ukraine. In order to get married it is necessary to be in compliance with a number of requirements. They include the minimum age for marriage which is 18 (in some cases 16), prohibition of marriage between relatives and forced marriage. Another important requirement is monogamy in marriage. Persons who were married can register another marriage only upon provision of documents which confirm dissolution of previous marriage. Thus after confirmation of legality of living in Ukraine, absence of other non-dissolved marriages as well as if in compliance with all the requirements of family legislation you can apply for registration of marriage”.

Question:

“My son (19 years old) is studying in the USA. He moved there when he was 15 and is not registered for monitoring by the Military commissariat. Now he needs to get a new foreign passport. So we do not know what to do in regard of his obligation to serve. Two years ago we went to the Military commissariat and showed documents which proved that he was really studying in the USA. In response we heard that there would be no deferment for him because there are no agreements on education between Ukraine and the USA. There exists one only with Turkey. Please, advise us what to do in this situation” – Anna Yatsko.

The advice is provided by Volodymyr Misyurak, a lawyer of law firm “Pravova Dopomoga”:

“Indeed, as of today there are no international agreements in the field of education between Ukraine and the USA. This is why your son will not be able to get deferment based on Subsection 9 of Article 17 of the Law of Ukraine “On military duty and military service”. In the current situation your best decision would be to extend visa and stay in the USA since the legislation in force is not in your favor. There exists a possibility that in the nearest future our Armed Forces will switch from conscription to military service that is based on contract. However if you cannot stay in the USA any longer then you can try the following option. Article 17 of the Law of Ukraine “On military duty and military service” provides such kind of deferment as deferment caused by health condition. It is provided for those who are subject to draft and recognized temporarily unfit for military service. Such deferment is provided for the term up to one year. If your son falls under provisions of Subsection 7 of Article 17 of the abovementioned law he will be able to avoid immediate draft. This time is sufficient for obtainment of new passport and visa. However such solution is not guaranteed and to a great extent will depend on eagerness of Military commissariats and other bodies to help you as well as on you efforts”.

You may also find it useful to read our material about visa requirements for a stay of different groups of foreign persons in Ukraine

Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION

SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПубликации в СМИКомментарии нашего юриста для газеты "Сегодня"

Комментарии нашего юриста для газеты "Сегодня"

Юрист ЮК «Правовая помощь» Владимир Мисюрак предоставил комментарии относительно ситуаций, которые возникли у читателей газеты "Сегодня".

Материал доступен в печатном виде в номере газеты от 31 июля 2013 года.

Вопрос:

«Добрый день! Хотелось бы задать вопрос по поводу регистрации брака. Можно ли зарегистрировать брак в одном из загсов Украины при условии, что оба супруга — граждане РФ? Заранее спасибо за ответ», — Илья Русенков.

Консультирует Владимир Мисюрак, юрист ЮК «Правовая помощь»:

«Ответ на вопрос однозначный: можно. Статья 26 Конституции Украины гласит, что иностранцы, которые находятся в Украине на законных основаниях, пользуются теми же правами и свободами, а также несут такие же обязанности, как и граждане Украины, — за исключениями, установленными Конституцией, законами или международными договорами Украины. Ст. 56 Закона Украины «О международном частном праве» предусматривает, что форма и порядок заключения брака в Украине между иностранцами определяются правом Украины. Основным документом, регулирующим вопросы брака в нашем государстве, является Семейный кодекс. Для заключения брака нужно придерживаться ряда требований. Это минимальный брачный возраст, а именно 18 лет (в отдельных случаях 16), запрет на браки между лицами, близкими по линии родства, отсутствие принуждения. Еще одно важное требование — единобрачие. Лица, находившиеся в браке, могут зарегистрировать повторный брак только при предъявлении документов, подтверждающих прекращение предыдущего брака. Поэтому после проверки законности оснований вашего пребывания на территории Украины, отсутствия остальных не прекращенных браков, а также в случае соответствия всем требованиям семейного законодательства вы можете смело подавать заявление».

Вопрос:

«Мой сын (19 лет) учится в США, уехал когда ему было 15, на учете в военкомате не стоит. Сейчас нужно получать загранпаспорт — и встает вопрос о срочной службе. Два года назад мы были в военкомате и показывали справки об учебе, на что нам ответили, что отсрочки сыну не видать, потому что между Украиной и США нет договоров об обучении, есть только с Турцией. Подскажите, что делать». — Анна Яцко.

Консультирует Владимир Мисюрак, юрист ЮК «Правовая помощь»:

«На сегодняшний день действительно не существует международных договоров в сфере образования между Украиной и США. Поэтому вы не сможете получить отсрочку на основании п.9 ст.17 Закона Украины «О воинской обязанности и военной службе». На данный момент оптимальным решением было бы продлить визу и остаться в США, поскольку действующее законодательство не в вашу пользу. Есть вероятность, что в ближайшее время наши Вооруженные силы все-таки перейдут на контрактную форму службы и потребность в срочной отпадет. Однако если продолжение пребывания в США не представляется возможным без возврата в Украину, то можно попробовать следующий вариант. Ст.17 Закона Украины «О воинской обязанности и военной службе» предусматривает такой вид отсрочки от срочной службы, как отсрочка по состоянию здоровья. Она предоставляется призывникам, которые признаны во время медицинского осмотра временно непригодными к военной службе. Такая отсрочка будет действительна на период до одного года. Если ваш сын подпадает под действие п.7 ст.17 вышеупомянутого закона — он сможет избежать немедленного призыва. Времени отсрочки будет достаточно для получения нового паспорта и визы. Однако такое решение проблемы не является гарантированным и во многом будет зависеть от податливости военкоматов и других органов и приложенных вами усилий».

Возможно Вас также заинтересует материал о визовом режиме пребывания иностранцев в Украине

Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи