MainPublications of our law firmPublications in mediaTax exemptions for hotels in Ukraine – new opportunities commented by lawyer of the firm

Tax exemptions for hotels in Ukraine – new opportunities commented by lawyer of the firm

  • Author: Andriy Buzynnyi
  • Practice areas: Taxation
  • Date of publication: 11/07/12

Andriy Buzynnyi, lawyer of law firm “Pravova Dopomoga”, provided his opinion for UBR.UA about amendments to the Tax Code of Ukraine related to taxation of hotel business.

The article is available through the following the link -

Text of the article (translation from Russian):

“The Parliament decided to show that it is ready to assert rights of hotel business not only on the eve of European football championship but also in an everyday life. The bill number 10724 adopted on the 6th of July changing the Tax Code of Ukraine provisions pursued the purpose.

One and a half year of tax preference that allows one not to pay tax on income of hotel if in compliance with some requirements with further use of this money for personal development have not brought the slightest results: only few hotels used the provided opportunity at their own fear and risk. The thing is that paragraph “a” of subsection 17 of subchapter 4 of “Transitional provisions” of the Tax Code is worded in such way that firstly it leaves more questions than provides answers and secondly it includes such criteria that very few can comply with.

We will pay closer attention to the latter aspect since the bill is related to the criteria. Hotels with 3, 4 and 5 “stars” had an obligatory part of income which was to be obtained by providing services for clients in the form of provision of room for temporary stay in the amount of 75% of total (or to be exact “sukupnyi” since the Code uses Ukrainian term “sukupnyi”) income of a business entity for a tax period but it turned out to be “unaffordable” for majority of hotels.

In practice “high star” hotels get more than a quarter of their incomes from related services (conference services, restaurants, etc.). In this regard legislator decided to lower share of income obtained form provision of rooms from 75% to 50%.

Majority of hoteliers have positive opinions about these changes and are intended to use the tax exemption in the nearest future. But there is still number of points to consider. First of all in order to achieve greater benefits one must obtain positive answer of the Tax Service whether this rule can be applied since the 1st of January 2011 (since it is beneficial for business entities) and secondly it would do well to receive generalizing tax clarification about application of this exemption.

The thing is that it contains a number of provisions that may become a “time bomb”. Such aspects in particular were discussed by representatives of hotel business at the meeting of Committee of law and finance of Hoteliers and Restaurateurs Club “Hoteliero”. They pointed out that terminology remains unclear (term of “sukupnyi dohid” (total income) is not defined in the Tax Code of Ukraine), there is no legal regulation which contains list of “main services” of hotels as well as there are issues related to reports on use of released money.

Thus, decrease of obligatory income share which is obtained from rooms to 50% will increase the amount of those who would like to use the provided exemption. However the amount of those who will actually use it depends on how fast and unambiguously the State Tax Service of Ukraine will provide clarifications about its application. So all we can do now is to wait for some news from the State Tax Service.”

The material was prepared within practice of Taxation.

Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПубликации в СМИНалоговые льготы для отелей - новые возможности прокомментировала наша юридическая компания

Налоговые льготы для отелей - новые возможности прокомментировала наша юридическая компания

Ссылка на статью - http://ubr.ua/finances/taxes/oteleram-rasshirili-vozmojnost-vospolzovatsia-nalogovymi-lgotami-147776.

Текст комментария: 

"Парламент решил продемонстрировать, что готов ратовать за права отельного бизнеса не только в преддверии чемпионата Европы по футболу, но и в повседневной жизни. На это направлен принятый 6 июля законопроект № 10724, которым внесены изменения в Налоговый кодекс.

Полуторагодичное существование налоговой преференции, позволяющей при соблюдении определенных требований не платить налоги с прибыли отелей, направляя высвобожденные средства на собственное развитие, не дало мало-мальски сто́ящих результатов: лишь единицы отелей на свой страх и риск воспользовались предоставленной возможностью. Дело в том, что норма подпункта "а" пункта 17 подраздела 4 "Переходных положений" Налогового кодекса выписана таким образом, что, во-первых, оставляет больше вопросов, чем дает ответов, а, во-вторых, содержит такие критерии, которые не всем под силу соблюдать.

Более подробно остановимся именно на последнем, так как законопроект касается именно критериев. Так, для отелей 3-х, 4-х и 5-и "звезд" существовавший показатель обязательной части дохода, который поступает от реализации услуг по размещению клиентов путем предоставления номера для временного проживания, в размере 75 % общего (или, если быть предельно точным, совокупного, так как Кодекс использует украинский термин "сукупний") дохода субъекта хозяйственной деятельности за отчетный период оказался "неподъемным" для большинства отелей.

На практике, "высокозвездные" отели куда больше четверти своих прибылей получают от сопутствующих услуг (конференц-услуги, рестораны и т.п.). В связи с этим, законодатель и решил снизить удельный вес прибыли от размещения постояльцев с 75-ти до 50-ти процентов.

Большинство отельеров приветствуют такие изменения и уже намерены в скором времени воспользоваться налоговой льготой. Однако есть еще несколько нюансов. Во-первых, для пущей выгоды необходимо добиться позитивного ответа налоговой службы о том, что данная норма может применяться с 1 января 2011 года (так как улучшает положение субъектов хозяйствования), а во-вторых, не помешало бы получить обобщающее налоговое разъяснение, касающееся прикладного применения данной льготы.

Дело в том, что в ней заложены ряд моментов, которые могут оказаться "бомбой замедленного действия". Такие нюансы, в частности, представители отельного бизнеса обговаривали на заседании Комитета права и финансов Клуба отельеров и рестораторов "Hoteliero", отметив, что непонятной остается терминология (понятие "сукупний дохід" Налоговый кодекс не содержит), нет закрепленного на законодательном уровне перечня "основных услуг" отелей, а также существуют вопросы по поводу составления отчетности по использованию высвобожденных средств.

Таким образом, снижение до 50-ти % обязательной части дохода, который поступает от реализации услуг по размещению клиентов, повлечет за собой рост желающих применять предусмотренную льготу. Правда, вырастет ли количество реально применяющих её зависит еще и от того, насколько оперативно и однозначно ГНС Украины предоставит разъяснения по её использованию. Так что ждем вестей от налоговой."

Данный материал подготовлен в рамках практики "Налоговое право".

Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи