MainPublications of our law firmPublications in mediaFundamental breach of a contract in Ukraine: analysis of legal cases

Fundamental breach of a contract in Ukraine: analysis of legal cases

At request of “Yurydychna gazeta” newspaper Alyona Lytvyn, lawyer of law firm “Pravova Dopomoga” commented on judicial practice related to use of fundamental breach of loan contract as a ground for its alternation or termination.

This material was published in “Yurydychna gazeta” newspaper issue number 12 dated the 19th of March 2013.

Unabridged text of the comment:

“Section 2 of Article 651 of the Civil Code of Ukraine provides that fundamental breach of contract by counterparty serves as a ground for alternation or termination of contract be means of court procedure.

Fundamentality of such violation can be recognized exclusively by court by means of actual data of other evaluation category: “significant extent” of deprivation of things that a person could expect for when entering a contract.

Significant extent of such deprivation must be exclusively in the form of objective circumstances that are considered by the court during hearing of this category of cases. In practice objective circumstances can be in the form of non-fulfillment of obligations stipulated in a contract. In particular, when speaking about loan contract, such objective circumstance can be in the form of bank’s refusal to provide loaned money (next tranche) stipulated in the loan contract.

The resolution of the Supreme Court of Ukraine number 3-74gs11 dated 19.09.2011 upheld decision of commercial court of Ivano-Frankivsk region dated the 23rd of November 2010 which satisfied claims of a claimant about termination of loan contract. The lawsuit was based on bank’s refusal to provide loaned money to a borrower due to circumstances related to worldwide crisis. Court’s decision was reasoned to be made based on fundamental breach of loan contract by the bank which served as a ground for termination of contract under Section 2 of Article 651 of the Civil Code of Ukraine. The court also pointed out that circumstances of financial crisis of 2008 that the bank referred to were not force majeure and therefore the grounds for exemption from liability were absent. The mentioned position was upheld by the High Commercial Court of Ukraine in its resolution number 39/189 dated 17.12.2009.

It should be mentioned that if bank commits fundamental breach of contract then based on Article 22 of the Civil Code of Ukraine a borrower is entitled to reimbursement of losses in the form of actual losses and lost interest.

However judicial practice that is related to reimbursement of losses and termination of loan contracts based on fundamental breach of contract remains quite unambiguous. Thus, decision of the Commercial Court of Kiev in case number 17/465 dated 27.02.2012 satisfied claims about recovery of losses from a bank, however claims about termination of contract were denied. And its resolution in case number 17/33-11 (19/57-10) dated 09.08.2011, the High Commercial Court of Ukraine upheld decisions of previous instances which denied claimant’s claims about termination of loan contract and recovery of losses.

Thus “fundamentality” of breach of loan contract is a ground for its coercive alternation or termination (in court) that is defined by means of causation between violation of right and “significant extent” of deprivation of things that a borrower expected for when entering loan contract. At the same time term of party’s “guilt” is not taken into consideration since description of the regulation sets presumption of guilt in case of fundamental breach of loan contract. Practice of application of Section 2 of Article 651 of the Civil Code of Ukraine is quite unambiguous, though scales of Themis are mostly in favor of a borrower.

Practice of Problem loans is one of the main practices of law firm “Pravova Dopomoga”.

Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION

SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПубликации в СМИ«Существенность» нарушения кредитного договора как основание для изменения или расторжения договора

«Существенность» нарушения кредитного договора как основание для изменения или расторжения договора

По запросу Юридической газеты, юрист ЮК «Правовая помощь» Алена Литвин прокомментировала судебную практику по использованию существенного нарушения кредитного договора, как основания для его изменения или расторжения.

Данный материал был опубликован в Юридической газете №12 от 19 марта 2013 года.

Полный текст комментария (перевод с украинского):

«Часть 2 ст.651 Гражданского кодекса Украины устанавливает, что существенное нарушение условий договора контрагентом является основанием изменения или расторжения договора в судебном порядке.

Существенность такого нарушения устанавливается исключительно судом на основании фактических данных через другую оценочную категорию, а именно: «значительная мера» лишение того, на что лицо рассчитывала при заключении договора.

Значительная степень такого лишения должна быть выражена исключительно объективными обстоятельствами, оценку которым дает суд при рассмотрении такой категории дел. Объективные обстоятельства на практике могут быть представлены невыполнением обязательств по договору. В частности, что касается кредитного договора, таким объективным обстоятельством может быть отказ Банка в выдаче кредитных средств (очередного транша) по Кредитному договору.

Постановлением Верховного Суда Украины от 19.09.2011 № 3-74гс11 было оставлено в силе решение хозяйственного суда Ивано-Франковской области от 23 ноября 2010 года, которым были удовлетворены требования истца о расторжении кредитного договора. Основанием иска был отказ Банка в предоставлении Заемщику кредитных средств в связи с обстоятельствами мирового кризиса. Свое решение суд обосновал существенным нарушением Банком условий кредитного договора, которое является основанием для расторжения договора в соответствии с частью второй статьи 651 Гражданского кодекса Украины. Суд также отметил, что приведенные Банком обстоятельства относительно финансового кризиса 2008 года не являются форс-мажорными, поэтому основания для освобождения Банка от ответственности отсутствуют. Указанную позицию подтверждает Высший хозяйственный суд Украины в своем постановлении от 17.12.2009 по делу № 39/189.

Стоит отметить, что в случае существенного нарушения договора со стороны Банка, Заемщик имеет право согласно ст. 22 Гражданского кодекса Украины на возмещение убытков в виде реального ущерба и упущенной выгоды.

Однако судебная практика по возмещению убытков и расторжению кредитного договора в связи с «существенностью» нарушения условий договора все же остается достаточно неоднозначной. Так, решением Хозяйственного суда г. Киева от 27.02.2012 по делу № 17/465 исковые требования о взыскании с Банка причиненных убытков были удовлетворены, однако отказано в части удовлетворения исковых требований о расторжении договора. А постановлением Высшего хозяйственного суда Украины от 09.08.2011 по делу № 17/33-11 (19/57-10) были оставлены без изменений решения судов предыдущих инстанций, которым отказано в удовлетворении требований истца о расторжении кредитного договора и взыскании убытков.

Таким образом «существенность» нарушения кредитного договора является одним из оснований его изменения или расторжения в принудительном порядке (судебном), которая устанавливается через причинно-следственную связь между нарушением права и лишением в «значительной степени» того, на что заемщик рассчитывал, заключая такой кредитный договор. При этом не учитывается понятие «вины» стороны, поскольку диспозиция данной нормы предусматривает презумпцию вины в случае существенного нарушения условий кредитного договора. Правоприменительная практика ч.2 ст.651 Гражданского кодекса Украины весьма неоднозначна, однако преимущественно чаши весов Фемиды склоняются в пользу заемщика».

Практика Проблемные кредиты - одна из ключевых в ЮК «Правовая помощь».

Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ
Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи