Bringing the Business Ownership Structure of the Financial Company into Сompliance with the NBU Requirements in 2021

In April this year, the National Bank of Ukraine approved new requirements for business ownership structures of non-bank financial institutions and their transparency criteria. The new decree obliged non-bank financial institutions (except for credit unions), lessors and postal service operators, which have the right to provide certain financial services, to submit information on the business ownership structure to the NBU and to publish on their websites by 17 June 2021. Besides, the companies that do not have transparent structure have six months to comply with the new requirements

In this regard, the owner of a factoring company contacted our company for advice. His company had a circular ownership structure where the provider of financial services was the parent company for the legal entity that owned a significant participation in this financial company, thus forming a so-called “loop”.

The abovementioned ownership structure is considered by the NBU as non-transparent and therefore our Client was at risk of having his Financial License revoked. 

You may also like: How to Open a Network of Pawnshops With One Owner?

Immediate changes in the ownership structure of a financial company in 2021

Having analyzed the Client’s situation and the new requirements of the licensing authority, we proposed the following way out of the situation: to introduce a natural person into the ownership structure of the parent company and to arrange for the purchase of the parent company’s major shares by this natural person.

Having coordinated all the details with the Client, we fully organized the whole mentioned process of making changes in the ownership. Thus, the natural person became the substantial shareholder in the parent company, which, for its part, has a substantial shareholding in the subsidiary factoring company, and the ownership structure has acquired signs of transparency. 

Our lawyers also developed necessary documents for the National Bank of Ukraine to approve the acquisition of substantial shareholding in the financial institution. Since a circular ownership structure is usually created for filling up the authorized share capital of the company, while making changes to the ownership structure, we also assisted in filling up the authorized share capital so that a minimal amount of the authorized share capital of our Client’s factoring company would meet legal requirements.

It should be noted that the way of reorganization of non-banking financial institution management structure may vary depending on the peculiarities of its primary structure and type of the company, so during the consultation our lawyers will be able to suggest the best way of the company reorganization based on your situation.

Do you want to keep your Financial License and continue further activities without sanctions from the state authorities? Don’t hesitate to contact us! We'll help you to bring your company in line with new requirements of the NBU.

Didn’t find an answer to your question?

Read about all the subtle aspects of the procedure for obtaining a Financial License in Ukraine here.

Everything about work of a Financial Company in Ukraine here.

Publication date: 03/06/2021

About author

Name: Sofia Korliuk

Position: Junior lawyer

Education: Taras Shevchenko National University

Knowledge of languages: Ukrainian, Russian, English

Email: [email protected]

Write to the author

We are ready to help you!

Contact us by mail [email protected], by phone number +38 044 499 47 99or by filling out the form:

Our other authors

Marina Losenko
Associate
Maksym Postyka
Head of Client Managers Department
Sofia Korliuk
Junior lawyer
Zakharchishin Olga
Assistant of the Lawyer

Приведение структуры собственности финансовой компании в соответствии с требованиями НБУ в 2021 году

В апреле этого года Национальный банк Украины утвердил новые требования к структурам собственности небанковских финучреждений и критерии их прозрачности. Новым постановлением НБУ обязал небанковские финансовые учреждения (кроме кредитных союзов), лизингодателей и операторов почтовой связи, имеющих право предоставлять отдельные финансовые услуги, подать НБУ, а также опубликовать на своих интернет-ресурсах информацию о структуре собственности до 17 июня 2021 года. Кроме этого, тем компаниям, которые не имеют прозрачной структуры, дается шесть месяцев на приведение ее в соответствие новым требованиям

В связи с этим в нашу компанию обратился владелец факторинговой компании за консультацией. Его фирма имела циклическую структуру собственности, где предоставитель финуслуг был материнской компанией для юридического лица, которая была владельцем существенного участия в этой финансовой компании, образуя таким образом так называемое "кольцо".

Указанную структуру собственности НБУ относит к непрозрачной, а следовательно, нашему Клиенту грозило аннулирование лицензии на предоставление финансовых услуг. 

Интересно: Как открыть сеть ломбардов одним владельцем?

Срочные изменения в структуре собственности финансовой компании в 2021 году

Проанализировав ситуацию Клиента и новые требования лицензионного органа, мы предложили следующий выход из ситуации: ввести в структуру собственности материнской компании физическое лицо и организовать покупку доли существенного участия материнской компании этим физическим лицом.

Согласовав все детали с Клиентом, мы полностью организовали весь указанный процесс внесения изменений в структуру. Таким образом, физическое лицо стало владеть существенным участием материнской компании, которая со своей стороны обладает существенным участием в дочерней факторинговой компании, а структура собственности приобрела признаки прозрачной. 

Наши юристы также разработали необходимые документы для согласования Национальным Банком Украины приобретения существенного участия в финансовом учреждении. Поскольку циклическая структура собственности обычно создавалась именно для наполнения уставного капитала учреждения, одновременно с изменениями структуры собственности мы помогли с наполнением уставного капитала так, чтобы минимальный размер уставного капитала факторинговой компании нашего Клиента отвечал требованиям законодательства.

Стоит заметить, что способ реорганизации структуры управления небанковского финансового учреждения может отличаться в зависимости от особенностей ее первичной структуры и вида учреждения, поэтому на консультации наши юристы смогут предложить наиболее оптимальный способ реорганизации, исходя из Вашей ситуации.

Вы хотите сохранить Вашу финансовую лицензию и продолжить дальнейшую деятельность без санкций со стороны государственных органов? Обращайтесь к нам! Мы поможем заблаговременно организовать приведение Вашей компании к новым требованиям НБУ.

Не нашли ответа на свой вопрос?

Все о нюансах получения финансовой лицензии в Украине здесь.

Все о работе финансовой компании в Украине здесь.

Дата публикации: 03/06/2021

Об авторе

Имя: София Корлюк

Должность: Помощник юриста

Образование: Киевский национальный университет имени Тараса Шевченка

Знание языков: украинский, русский, английский

Электронная почта: [email protected]

В команду присоединилась в декабре 2020 года в качестве помощника юриста в сфере трудового и корпоративного права. Сейчас прилагает свои усилия для помощи юристам компании придерживаться стандарта качества предоставления юридических услуг, активно учится для личного профессионального роста.
Написать автору

Мы готовы Вам помочь!

Свяжитесь с нами по почте [email protected], по номеру телефона +38 044 499 47 99 или заполнив форму:

Другие наши авторы

Максим Постыка
Руководитель отдела Клиент-менеджеров
София Корлюк
Помощник юриста