What is the difference between the accounting and reporting of a foreign company and the accounting and reporting of a resident legal entity?

The information available on the accounting and reporting of a resident legal entity in open sources is more than enough. The main thing is not to drown in this sea of information. 

The key point is the following: the form of accounting and reporting is regulated by the tax status of the legal entity and taxes that are paid by the legal entity. For example, a legal entity operating under the common system of taxation, a VAT payer, which has hired personnel and real estate on has to report profit tax, financial tax, VAT, payroll taxes, real estate tax.

When we talk about a foreign company, as a rule, we mean a representative office or a legal entity with foreign membership. Today, we will answer the question of how reporting and accounting are different for them.

You may also like: How to Pay Income Tax Correctly?

Reporting and accounting of a representative office or a company with foreign capital in Ukraine

A representative office can conduct business activities if it is a permanent (or what is also called a commercial) representative office. Or it can simply be a representative office which concludes agreements, collects information, keeps documents, in general performs an auxiliary function – then it is a non-permanent representative office. Of course, in the first case, a representative office may receive revenue on its current account, but in the second case, only funding from the non-resident for the maintenance of the non-permanent representative office. 

That is, a non-resident can do business in Ukraine either through its so-called “branch”, i.e. a permanent establishment or having established here a legal entity with foreign capital. The difference is that a permanent establishment acts as a structural subdivision of a foreign company with a separate bank account, while a company established by a foreign legal entity is a full-fledged independent legal entity. 

Since January 2021, a non-resident company must be registered with the tax office where the representative office is registered. This means that in terms of accounting and reporting, both subsidiaries and representative offices are practically on an equal footing. 

There are differences in their activities, but they are on a different plane from accounting and reporting, for example: 

  • a representative office does not need to obtain a work permit for its foreign employees, while a legal entity with foreign capital does; 
  • a representative office can use a trademark, while a legal entity will need to obtain a license agreement; 
  • a representative office can easily transfer its profits to the head office, while the legal entity will have to pay the dividends and withhold the repatriation tax. 

But for all that, the registration of a representative office is much more expensive and complicated than the establishment of a new company with a non-resident founder.

Thus, when choosing between a commercial representative office and a newly established company with foreign capital, in most cases the second option is more economically advantageous.  

As non-residents, starting to do business in Ukraine, mostly employ citizens of Ukraine, so there will be no big savings on work permits. 

As for the repatriation tax, agreements on avoidance of double taxation with other countries come into play here, which means that there is room for tax optimization. In addition, in the course of business activities, the status of a commercial representative office may increase the appetite of the regulatory authorities.

Each time when elaborating the Ukraine entry plan for our foreign Clients we weigh all advantages and disadvantages and try them on the business scheme chosen by our Clients. After that we recommend exactly the most suitable option for them.

You may also like: Business Planning for Foreign Business in Ukraine

Accounting and reporting of a foreign company and a resident company in Ukraine

Comparing the rules of accounting and reporting for a foreign company and for a resident company, there are no fundamental differences. Legal entities with foreign investments pay taxes according to Ukrainian legislation under the same conditions as Ukrainian companies. 

But! Article 11 of the Law of Ukraine On the Regime of Foreign Investments declares state guarantees of protection of foreign investments, in particular if the foreign founder has decided to terminate the activity it has a right to return the investments during 6 months without payment of fee.

Some years ago one foreign medical company, expanding the geography of its business, registered in Ukraine a legal entity with 100% foreign capital. They introduced expensive medical equipment to the authorized share capital through the importation into the customs territory of Ukraine. It should be mentioned that according to the Customs Code, import of property to authorized share capital of a legal entity with foreign investment by non-resident is exempt from import duty, while purchase abroad by a usual legal entity would not have such privilege. 

In order to distinguish risks and protect the imported property, we opened a medical clinic in parallel, a wholly Ukrainian LLC, which was intended to conduct operational activities without having its own equipment. The equipment that was on the balance sheet of the company with foreign investments, was leased to the clinic. That is, in the event of serious claims or litigation during the activities of the medical clinic, the possibility of significant material or financial losses was excluded. 

Summarizing all the pros and cons, the most optimal form of foreign business in most cases is the establishment of a legal entity with foreign investment. But perhaps in tandem with other organizational forms it is possible to achieve a synergistic effect, so it is advisable to consult with experts and choose the best solution.

If you want to get the best solution for yourself, go to our service pages:

Foreign business registration in Ukraine.

Accounting services for business.

Publication date: 04/07/2022

We are ready to help you!

Contact us by mail [email protected] or by filling out the form:

Чем отличается учет и отчетность иностранной компании от учета и отчетности юрлица-резидента?

Стоимость услуг:

от 8000 грн
Бухгалтерское сопровождение
от 26000 грн
Аудит
5.0
На основе 200 отзывов в Google

Отзывы наших клиентов

Доступной информации об учете и отчетности юрлица-резидента в открытых источниках более чем достаточно. Главное не утонуть в этом информационном море. 

Ключевой момент здесь следующий: форму учета и отчетности диктует налоговый статус  юрлица и то, какие налоги платит это юрлицо. Например, юрлицо на общей системе налогообложения, плательщик НДС, с наемными сотрудниками, и недвижимостью на балансе подает отчетность по налогу на прибыль, финансовую, по НДС, по зарплатным налогам, по налогу на недвижимость.

Когда речь идет об иностранной компании, то, как правило, подразумевается представительство или юрлицо с иностранным участием. Сегодня мы ответим на вопрос, как отчетность и учет отличаются для них.

Интересно: Как правильно оплатить налог на прибыль?

Отчетность и учет представительства или компании с иностранным капиталом в Украине

Представительство может вести хоздеятельность, если это постоянное (или как еще называют коммерческое) представительство. Или же оно может просто быть представительским офисом, который заключает договора, собирает информацию, хранит документы, в общем выполняет вспомогательную функцию - тогда это непостоянное представительство. Конечно, же в первом случае, на расчетный счет будет поступать выручка, а во втором - только финансирование от нерезидента на содержание непостоянного представительства. 

То есть, нерезидент может вести бизнес в Украине как через свой, так называемый “филиал” - постоянное представительство или учредив здесь юрлицо с иностранным капиталом. Разница в том, что постоянное представительство выступает как структурное подразделение иностранной компании с отдельным банковским счетом, а компания, учрежденная иностранным юрлицом - полноценное самостоятельное юрлицо. 

С января 2021 года компания нерезидент должна стать на учет в той налоговой, где зарегистрировано представительство. Это означает, что с точки зрения учета и отчетности, и дочерняя компания и представительства пребывают практически в равных условиях. 

Отличия в их деятельности существуют, но они находятся в другой плоскости, чем учет и отчетность, например: 

  • представительству не нужно получать разрешения на трудоустройство для своих иностранных сотрудников, а юрлицу с иностранным капиталом - нужно; 

  • представительство может использовать торговую марку, а юрлицу - нужно обзавестись лицензионным соглашением; 

  • представительство без проблем может перевести свою прибыль в главный офис, а юрлицо будет обязано выплатить дивиденды  и удержать налог на репатриацию. 

Но при всем этом, регистрация и постановка на учет представительства значительно дороже и сложнее, чем учреждение новой компании с учредителем-нерезидентом.

Таким образом, выбирая между коммерческим представительством и вновь созданной компанией с иностранным капиталом, в большинстве случаев,  экономически выгоден второй вариант.  

Поскольку нерезиденты, начиная вести бизнес в Украине, в основном нанимают на работу граждан Украины, то есть большой экономии на разрешениях на трудоустройства не будет. 

Касательно налога на репатриацию, то здесь вступает в работу соглашения об избежании двойного налогообложения с другими странами, а значит есть возможность для налоговой оптимизации. Кроме того, в процессе хоздеятельности статус коммерческого представительства может повышать аппетит у контролирующих органов.

Каждый раз, разрабатывая план выхода на рынок Украины для наших иностранных Клиентов, мы взвешиваем все плюсы и минусы, и примеряем их на ту схему бизнеса, что видит для себя наш Клиент. После этого рекомендуем именно тот вариант, что будет для него оптимальным.

Интересно: Бизнес-планирование для иностранного бизнеса в Украине

Учет и отчетность иностранной компании и компании резидента в Украине

Сравнивая правила бухгалтерского учета и отчетности для иностранной компании и для компании-резидента, принципиальных отличий не существует. Юрлица с иностранными инвестициями платят налоги по украинскому законодательству, на тех же условиях, что и украинские компании. 

Но! Ст.11 Закона Украины “О режиме иностранного инвестирования” декларирует государственные гарантии защиты иностранных инвестиций, в частности, если иностранный учредитель решил прекратить свою деятельность, он имеет право вернуть свои инвестиции в течении 6 месяцев без уплаты пошлины.

Несколько лет назад одна иностранная медицинская компания, расширяя географию своего бизнеса, зарегистрировала в Украине юрлицо со 100% иностранным капиталом. В уставной фонд было заведено дорогостоящее медицинское оборудование через ввоз на таможенную территорию Украины. Надо отметить, что согласно Таможенного кодекса, ввоз нерезидентом имущества в уставный капитал юрлица с иностранными инвестициями (ИИ), освобождается от уплаты ввозной пошлины, тогда как покупка за границей обычным юрлицом не имела бы такой привилегии. 

Чтобы разделить риски и уберечь ввезенное имущество, параллельно была открыта медицинская клиника - полностью украинское ООО, которое предназначалось для ведения операционной деятельности без наличия собственного оборудования. Оборудование, что находилось на балансе компании с ИИ, было передано в аренду клинике. То есть, в случае серьезных претензий или судебных разбирательств в ходе деятельности медицинской клиники, была исключена возможность значительных материальных или финансовых потерь. 

Обобщая все плюсы и минусы, чаще всего наиболее оптимальная форма ведения иностранного бизнеса - это учреждение юридического лица с иностранными инвестициями. Но, возможно, в тандеме с иными организационными формами можно добиться синергетического эффекта, поэтому желательно проконсультироваться со специалистами и выбрать лучшее решение.

Если вы хотите получить лучшее решение для себя, переходите на наши страницы услуг:

Регистрация иностранного бизнеса в Украине.

Бухгалтерское обслуживание бизнеса.

Дата публикации: 04/07/2022

Мы готовы Вам помочь!

Свяжитесь с нами по почте [email protected], по номеру телефона +38 044 499 47 99 или заполнив форму: