MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceHow to buy a medical business? What to look for in the process?

How to buy a medical business? What to look for in the process?

Acquiring a medical business can be both a need and a necessity. This segment is quite specific from the point of view of property change, and therefore agreements of this kind are quite rare.

However, constantly working with medical clinics and other health care facilities, as well as with businessmen, our lawyers have supported a number of transactions related to the change of the owner of the medical business. The main features of such transactions will be described in this publication.

You may also like: How To Advertise Medical Services? Legal Requirements For Advertising

Does it matter what to sell - an LLC or a sole proprietorship?

Business structure is one of the first factors to be considered when selling medical business. While the transfer of a share interest in the authorized share capital of a legal entity is not a very complicated procedure, this method is not available for an individual entrepreneur  at all. In this case, we can only talk about a step-by-step transfer of assets:

  • An individual entrepreneur sells the clinic premises to the buyer, or reissues the lease agreement to the buyer;
  • An individual entrepreneur fires the employees, and then the buyer employs them back;
  • An individual entrepreneur sells medical equipment to the buyer, or the buyer becomes a new tenant under an equipment lease;
  • An individual entrepreneur and the buyer sign trademark transfer agreements, etc.

In addition, the buyer will have to undergo all permitting procedures, such as obtaining a Medical License, etc. Despite the relative complexity of the procedure, it still makes economic sense, especially at the regional level, among small providers of medical services.

For LLCs, it will be sufficient to sell the corporate rights (in full or in part, for example, when the buyer is a co-owner or investor). Of course, such procedures are subject to registration, but employees, premises, and most importantly, permits will remain unchanged, which means that the new owner will be able to continue the business immediately.

When purchasing a business with a significant market coverage, one should pay attention to the antimonopoly restrictions, obtain preliminary conclusions of the antimonopoly authorities and approval for the acquisition of a share of such business.

You may also like: Extension Of The Medical License

Audit of previous activities of the medical business for sale

When you become the owner of a pre-existing business, you should analyze all the documentation that was kept. The standard checklist can be divided into 2 types.

1. Documentation that shall be maintained by any business:

  • Accounting documents and tax reporting;
  • Lease agreements for premises and equipment, or relevant ownership documents for such facilities;
  • Employment agreements with employees, confirmation of absence of arrears in payment of taxes and fees in respect of hired employees.

2. Special documentation directly related to the medical component of the business:

  • Documents submitted when applying for a license (they shall be checked for compliance at the time of obtaining the license, and at the time of selling the business)
  • Reporting medical forms (including so-called “zero” forms) that should have been filed during the company’s existence;
  • Patients’ medical records and other documentation.

In addition, it is not superfluous to check the company in the official registers for legal disputes, criminal proceedings of tax debt. Even a simple Google search can provide information about reputational risks that can be inherited along with financial and other types of sanctions.

You may also like: What Is A Legal Support Of A Medical Business?

How to start a medical business for sale?

Starting a medical business specifically for sale is a relatively complex task due to the peculiarities of obtaining permits.

Thus, when obtaining a Medical License, it is necessary to specify the specific medical personnel who will work in the health care facility at the time of submitting documents, and within a month after obtaining the license, to employ these employees. The fact of employment, as a rule, leads to the need to sign employment agreement, pay wages, which in conditions of uncertainty of the date of purchase may become an unsustainable investment.

Therefore, when choosing a scheme for organizing a medical business for sale, the following criteria should be taken into account:

  • Such business should be in the form of a legal entity (ideally a LLC), as this simplifies the procedure of asset transfer;
  • The premises must be brought in line with sanitary and building standards, and a sanitary inspection report must be obtained;
  • With regard to the use of the premises or equipment, it is the seller’s choice, but the most popular are leases where the seller is the owner of the property or has long-term lease guarantees from the owner;

By the time of sale, it is not recommended to obtain a Medical License for the same reasons as those mentioned at the beginning of the section. In addition, if the buyer wants to hire its own staff, such changes should be reflected in the documents, which should be submitted to the Ministry of Health within 30 days.

At the same time, today the law does not set a period for consideration of documents on amendments to the license, and therefore such documents can be considered even for several months. At the same time, obtaining a new license under the law takes 10 business days, which usually takes 3-4 weeks in practice, but is nevertheless faster than making changes.

If you want to buy a ready-made medical business, don’t hesitate to contact us. We have extensive experience in supporting such transactions and will monitor every aspect of the case.

Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS
0 800 210 915

Юридическая компания «Правова Допомога»Публикации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика нашей компанииКак происходит продажа медицинского бизнеса? На что обратить внимание в процессе?

Как происходит продажа медицинского бизнеса? На что обратить внимание в процессе?

Приобретение медицинского бизнеса может быть как потребностью, так и необходимостью. Данный сегмент является довольно специфическим с позиции изменения собственности, а потому соглашения такого рода являются достаточно редкими.

Однако, постоянно работая с медицинскими клиниками и другими медицинскими учреждениями, а также врачами-предпринимателями, наши юристы сопровождали целый ряд транзакций по изменению владельца медицинского бизнеса. Основные особенности таких сделок будут описаны в данном материале.

Читайте также: Как рекламировать медицинские услуги? Требования закона к рекламе

Имеет ли значение, что продается - ООО или ЧП?

Форма бизнеса является одним из первых факторов, которые следует учитывать при продаже медицинского бизнеса. В то время как передача доли в капитале юридического лица является не слишком сложной процедурой, для физического лица-предпринимателя такой способ недоступен вообще. В таком случае речь может идти только о пошаговой передаче активов:

  • ФЛП продает помещения клиники покупателю или на покупателя переоформляется договор аренды;
  • ФЛП увольняет работников, а покупатель принимает их в свой штат;
  • ФЛП продает медицинское оборудование покупателю или покупатель становится новым арендатором по договору аренды оборудования;
  • подписываются договоры о передаче прав на торговую марку и т.д.

Кроме этого, покупателю придется пройти все разрешительные процедуры, например, получение медицинской лицензии и т.д. Несмотря на относительную сложность процедуры, она все еще не лишена экономического смысла, особенно на региональном уровне, среди небольших поставщиков медицинских услуг.

Для ООО же будет достаточным продать корпоративные права (в полном объеме или частично, например, когда покупатель будет совладельцем или инвестором). Конечно, такие процедуры подлежат регистрации, однако работники, помещения, и что особенно важно, разрешительные документы, останутся неизменными, а значит новый владелец сможет сразу продолжить бизнес.

Приобретая бизнес с существенным покрытием рынка, следует обратить внимание на антимонопольные ограничения, получить предварительные выводы антимонопольных органов и согласование на приобретение доли такого бизнеса.

Читайте также: Расширение медицинской лицензии

Аудит предыдущей деятельности медицинского бизнеса на продажу

Становясь владельцем предварительно действующего бизнеса, следует провести анализ документации, которая велась. Стандартный чек-лист можно разделить на 2 блока.

1. Документация, которая ведется любым бизнесом:

  • бухгалтерские документы и налоговая отчетность;
  • договоры аренды помещения и оборудования, или соответствующие документы о собственности на такие объекты;
  • трудовые договоры с работниками, подтверждение отсутствия задолженности по уплате налогов и сборов в части наемных работников.

2. Специальная документация, касающаяся непосредственно медицинской составляющей бизнеса:

  • документы, которые подавались для получения лицензии (проверяются на предмет их соответствия на момент получения лицензии, и на момент продажи бизнеса)
  • отчетные медицинские формы (включая и так называемые "нулевые"), которые должны были подаваться за период существования компании;
  • медицинские карты пациентов и другая документация.

Также, не лишней будет проверка компании в официальных реестрах на предмет судебных споров, уголовных производств налогового долга. Даже обычный поиск в Google может дать информацию о репутационных рисках, которые можно унаследовать вместе с финансовыми и другими видами санкций.

Интересно: Что такое абонентское юридическое обслуживание медицинского бизнеса?

Как создать медицинский бизнес на продажу?

Создание медицинского бизнеса специально под продажу является относительно сложной задачей в силу специфики получения разрешительной документации.

Так, получая лицензию на медицинскую практику, нужно уже на момент подачи указать конкретный медицинский персонал, который будет работать в медучреждении, а в течение месяца после получения лицензии, трудоустроить этих работников. Факт же трудоустройства, как правило, влечет необходимость подписания трудовых договоров, выплаты заработной платы, что в условиях неопределенности даты покупки, может стать непосильной инвестицией.

Поэтому при выборе схемы организации медицинского бизнеса на продажу, следует исходить из следующих критериев:

  • такой бизнес всегда должен быть в форме юридического лица (оптимально ООО), поскольку это упрощает процедуру передачи активов;
  • помещение должно быть приведено в соответствие с санитарными и строительными нормами, получен акт санитарного обследования;
  • касательно использования помещения или оборудования - выбор за продавцом, однако самыми популярными являются арендные отношения, когда продавец выступает собственником имущества или имеет гарантии долгосрочной аренды от собственника;

К моменту продажи, медицинскую лицензию не рекомендуется получать по тем же причинам, что мы указали в начале раздела. Кроме этого, если покупатель хочет нанять свой персонал, то такие изменения нужно будет отразить в документах, которые должны быть представлены в Минздраве в течение 30 дней.

При этом, сегодня законом не установлен срок на рассмотрение документов о внесении изменений в лицензию, а потому такие документы могут рассматриваться даже несколько месяцев. В то же время, получение новой лицензии по закону занимает 10 рабочих дней, которые обычно на практике растягиваются на 3-4 недели, но тем не менее является быстрее, чем внесение изменений.

Если Вы хотите приобрести готовый медицинский бизнес - обращайтесь к нам. Мы имеем большой опыт в сопровождении подобных сделок и проконтролируем каждый аспект дела.

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость

Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи
0 800 210 915