Residence permit by marriage in Ukraine: why is it denied if a foreigner has a new passport?

Foreigners living in Ukraine and already having a job or any other activity here often start planning their future life here. Of course, a question of entering into marriage in Ukraine may arise, and this gives the opportunity and the right to obtain a residence permit in Ukraine by marriage. 

The procedure has been described several times, including by us here, but in practice it involves interesting subtle aspects. For example, additional requirements to a foreigner when drawing up documents for obtaining a residence permit by marriage, if the foreigner’s passport is new. Can a foreigner be refused a residence permit and what to do in this situation?

You may also like: Residence Permit For Family In Ukraine

Core of the case: Residence permit through marriage in Ukraine for a citizen of Moldova

At the beginning of 2020 we were contacted by a citizen of Moldova, whose goal was to get a residence permit in Ukraine, having concluded a marriage with a Ukrainian. As the given basis is a guarantee of successful residence permit reception, we started to work.

First of all, to conclude a marriage, the Client had to enter Ukraine for legal stay in the country. And since the Client is a citizen of Moldova, he could stay in Ukraine under a visa-free regime. So immediately after crossing the border, we began the process of registration of marriage with a citizen of Ukraine. 

In this case the problem was that the foreigner had a brand new passport issued 3 months ago. This was the problem for all further actions, because in order to get married and to get a residence permit, it is necessary to have a passport, the validity period of which is more than 6 months.

Of course, in this situation you can always step back and just wait for the required number of months, but we found another solution. To circumvent the rule with a new passport, you can get a certificate from the Border Guard Service about the legal entry and stay of a foreigner in Ukraine. This certificate gives legal grounds for the temporary stay of a non-resident in Ukraine, until the completion of the procedure of voluntary return of the latter. Since the procedure of voluntary return is a marriage with a Ukrainian, then having obtained this certificate, we were able to submit documents for marriage registration to the Civil Registration Office. 

How to get a temporary residence certificate from the Border Guard Service?

To do this, you must personally apply to the Main Center for Special Information Processing of the State Border Guard Service of Ukraine. The period for obtaining the certificate is 10 business days. Of course, our lawyers helped competently draw up an application in accordance with all the requirements of the law, and accompanied the foreigner during his visit to both the State Border Guard Service and the Migration Service.

You may also likeFrequently Asked Questions About Residence Permit In Ukraine

After obtaining the certificate, our lawyers conducted the rest of the procedure to obtain a residence permit in Ukraine under the scheme we have properly worked out:

  • Having obtained the certificate, we accompanied the Client to the Civil Registration Office, where he concluded a marriage with a Ukrainian woman;
  • Then we gathered all necessary documents to submit for a residence permit, which took us only 5 days. 

Since the Clients lived in Mykolaiv, and they wanted to get a residence permit there, we organized remote legal support of the procedure for obtaining a residence permit from Kyiv in Mykolaiv. 

Note: Ukrainian legislation requires D type visa in the passport, but for citizens of countries with which Ukraine has an international agreement on visa-free regime - this requirement is canceled. 

  • Our lawyers sent ready-made documents (insurances, translations, notarization) to the Client by New Mail delivery service, and organized the submission of all documents to the State Migration Service in the city of Mykolaiv. 
  • As a result, within 7 days after filing, the Client obtained a temporary residence permit on the first try.

No matter whether you are in Kyiv or another city of Ukraine, the experience of our lawyers allows us to successfully obtain a residence permit in any region of Ukraine, as well as solve any problems arising in the process.

Do you want to get a residence permit in Ukraine by marriage? Don’t hesitate to contact us

Didn’t find an answer to your questions?

Find more information about Residence Permit in Ukraine here

Publication date: 15/10/2020

We are ready to help you!

Contact us by mail [email protected], by phone number +38 044 499 47 99or by filling out the form:

ВНЖ по браку в Украине: почему отказывают, если у иностранца новый паспорт?

Иностранцы, проживающие на территории Украины, и уже имеющие тут работу или любую другую деятельность, часто начинают планировать здесь свою дальнейшую жизнь. Разумеется, может возникнуть вопрос вступления в брак в Украине, а это дает возможность и право оформить ВНЖ через брак в Украине. 

Сама процедура уже несколько раз описана, в том числе и нами тут, но на практике встречаются интересные нюансы. Например, дополнительные требования к иностранцу при оформлении документов для получения ВНЖ через брак, если паспорт иностранца совсем новый. Могут ли отказать в ВНЖ и как поступить в такой ситуации?

Интересно: ВНЖ для семьи в Украине

Суть дела: ВНЖ через брак в Украине для гражданина Молдовы

В начале 2020 года к нам обратился гражданин Молдовы, целью которого было получить ВНЖ в Украине, заключив при этом брак с украинкой. Так как данное основание является гарантией успешного получения ВНЖ, мы принялись за работу.

Прежде всего, для заключения брака, Клиенту нужно было въехать в Украину для законного пребывания в стране. И так как Клиент является гражданином Молдовы, то он мог находиться на территории Украины по безвизовому режиму. Поэтому сразу после пересечения границы мы начали процесс оформления брака с гражданкой Украины. 

Загвоздка данного кейса была в том, что у иностранца был совершенно новый паспорт, выданный 3 месяца назад. Именно это и являлось проблемой для всех дальнейших действий, поскольку для заключения брака и последующего получения ВНЖ необходимо иметь паспорт, срок действия которого составляет больше 6-ти месяцев.

Конечно, в такой ситуации всегда можно отступить и просто выждать положенное количество месяцев, но мы нашли другое решение. Помочь обойти правило с новым паспортом может получение справки из пограничной службы о законном пересечении и пребывании иностранца в Украине. Эта справка дает законные основания для временного пребывания нерезидента в Украине на срок до завершения процедуры добровольного возвращения последнего. Так как процедурой добровольного возвращения является именно заключения брака с украинкой, то получив эту справку, мы сумели подать документы на оформление в РАГС. 

Как получить справку из пограничной службы о временном пребывании иностранца?

Для этого надо лично обратиться с заявлением в Главный центр обработки специальной информации Государственной пограничной службы Украины. Срок получения справки - 10 рабочих дней. Разумеется, наши юристы помогли грамотно составить заявление по всем требованиям закона и сопроводили иностранца во время его визита как в пограничную, так и в миграционную службу.

ИнтересноЧастые вопросы о ВНЖ в Украине

После получения справки наши юристы провели всю оставшуюся процедуру получения ВНЖ в Украине по отработанной нами схеме:

  • Имея на руках справку, мы сопроводили Клиента в РАГС, где он смог заключить брак с украинкой;
  • Далее мы провели процесс подготовки сбора всех необходимых документов для подачи на ВНЖ, что заняло у нас всего 5 дней. 

Так как Клиенты проживали в Николаеве и получать вид на жительство хотели именно там, мы организовали дистанционное сопровождение получения ВНЖ из Киева в Николаеве. 

Примечание: Законодательство Украины предусматривает наличие в паспорте визы типа D, но для граждан стран, с которыми Украина имеет международный договор о безвизовом режиме - это требование отменяется. 

  • Готовые документы (страховки, переводы, нотариальное заверение) наши юристы отправили Новой почтой Клиенту и организовали прием подачи всех бумаг в ГМС города Николаева. 
  • В результате Клиентом в течение 7-ми дней после подачи был получен временный вид на жительство с первого раза.

Неважно, находитесь ли Вы в Киеве, или нет, опыт наших юристов позволяет нам успешно получать ВНЖ в любых областях Украины, а также решить любые возникающие в процессе проблемы.

Хотите оформить ВНЖ в Украине через брак? Обращайтесь! 

Не нашли ответа на свои вопросы?

Больше информации о ВНЖ в Украине тут.

Дата публикации: 15/10/2020

Об авторе

Имя: Карина Кузьминская

Должность: Младший юрист

Образование: Киевский национальный университет имени Тараса Шевченка

Знание языков: украинский, русский, английский

Электронная почта: [email protected]

К команде ЮК «Правовая помощь» Карина присоединилась в качестве помощника юриста в сфере медицинского права и предоставления юридических услуг для нерезидентов. Имеет опыт работы в сфере судебной практики и разрешений миграционных вопросов для иностранцев.

В команде профессионалов Карина получает опыт в сфере лицензирования медицинской практики, оформлении разрешений на работу и регистрации юридических лиц и ФЛП.
Написать автору

Мы готовы Вам помочь!

Свяжитесь с нами по почте [email protected], по номеру телефона +38 044 499 47 99 или заполнив форму:

Другие наши авторы

Максим Постыка
Руководитель отдела Клиент-менеджеров
Карина Кузьминская
Младший юрист
София Корлюк
Помощник юриста