MainPublications of our law firmRepresentative experienceOur lawyers supported signing of lease on a dental clinic

Our lawyers supported signing of lease on a dental clinic

A client - natural person – retained services of our law firm in July of 2018. He was going to open a dental clinic in the near future. The client was at the negotiation phase for tenancy at the moment of contacting us. The location he wanted corresponded to a business model of the client completely, but a number of issues arose in the course of communicating with the owner which alerted him. For instance, the owner of the premises did not want to sign a contract directly, but instead insisted on using an intermediary agent, actually offering a sublease to the client. Moreover, the lease price for the premises changed constantly as they were quite interesting and the owner could not determine exactly, how much he wanted for the location.

Since the premises were without the renovations, our client understood the necessity of investment in the construction works and installment of special equipment. Some of the inherent changes (which cannot be detached from the premises upon completion of the lease) were valued at $ 20,000. The client needed a good contract, which would protect him from the increase in rental rates, early termination and other risks as well as would allow him to recoup the investment within three years.

When discussing the form of the contract (notarial or simple written form), we explained to the client that the former is required only if the term of the contract exceeds 3 years. Otherwise, the notarial form of the contract does not create any additional guarantees in comparison with the simple written form. At the same time, the notarial certification of signatures in the contract will cost a substantial sum. The client made a decision to arrange a three-year contract with the prevailing right to extend it.

Another important issue was to protect the investment in case if the contract would be for any reason terminated earlier than in three years. We know that such guarantees have two aspects: legal and practical. The contract must stipulate the essential provisions which regulate the liabilities of the landlord to refund the improvements virtually in all cases, except those arising from the fault of our client. But this is not enough: considering the presence of the intermediary agent in the situation, we proposed to additionally sign a contract of guarantee according to which the owner of the location would be liable for performance of obligations by the agent. This is a guarantee de facto - ensuring the recovery of future awards won in court at the expense of the owned premises.

The third circumstance was the wish of the client not to pay the lease until the completion of improvements and obtainment of medical license, which was supposed to be achieved approximately by December 1. We recommended entering into an accessory sublease contract, as in addition to the deferred payment, both parties wanted to conclude the principal contract between the different parties: our client was supposed to register an LLC, and the intermediary agent was supposed to become a sole proprietor on a self-employment tax.

After approving all the details with the client and preparation of the draft of accessory lease contract, our lawyers accompanied the negotiations stage, since the conclusion of contracts is often failed precisely at this stage - most people do not like and cannot discuss the possible negative consequences. At the same time we understood that our client is very interested in the location and we should not allow protection of his interests to interfere with the signing of contract.

The negotiation process was taken care of as delicately as possible. Within its course we showed the intermediary agent his interest in the contract of guarantee and closed the deal by signing the preliminary (accessory) lease.

Legal support for business processes requires not only legal knowledge, but also an understanding of the ultimate purpose of all the involved actions. We are constantly improving in both in order to provide the clients with maximum benefit from our consultation and representation of their interests.

Contact the author

ANY QUESTIONS LEFT?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION

SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПрактика компанииСопроводили аренду помещения для стоматологической клиники

Сопроводили аренду помещения для стоматологической клиники

В июле 2018 года в нашу компанию обратился Клиент, физическое лицо, который в ближайшее время собирался организовать работу стоматологической клиники. В момент обращения, Клиент находился на стадии переговоров об аренде помещения. Помещение полностью соответствовало бизнес-модели нашего Клиента, но в процессе общения с собственником возник ряд моментов, которые его насторожили. Так, например, собственник помещения не хотел подписывать договор напрямую, а настаивал на добавлении в схему посредника, фактически предлагая Клиенту субаренду. Также постоянно менялась цена сдачи помещения, поскольку оно было достаточно интересным и собственник не мог определить точно сколько он за него хочет.

Так как помещение было без ремонта, наш Клиент понимал необходимость вложений в строительные работы и оснащение помещения, часть неотъемлемых изменений (тех, которые нельзя будет забрать в натуре, по завершению договора аренды) оценивалась в 20 000 долларов США. Клиенту необходим был хороший договор, который обезопасил бы его от повышений ставки аренды, досрочного расторжения и других рисков и позволил бы ему в течении трех лет работы окупить вложения.

Обсуждая форму договора (нотариальная или простая письменная) мы пояснили клиенту, что первая требуется лишь в том случае, если срок действия договора превышает 3 года. В противном случае, нотариальная форма договора не несет никаких дополнительных гарантий по сравнению с простой письменной формой. В тоже время, нотариальное заверение подписей на договоре обойдется в значительную сумму. Клиентом было принято решение, что его устроит трехлетний договор с преимущественным правом нашего Клиента на его продление.

Вторым важным вопросом было защитить вложения на случай, если по каким-либо причинам, договор будет расторгнут раньше, чем через три года. Мы знаем, что подобные гарантии имеют две плоскости – юридическую и фактическую. Договор должен содержать необходимые положения, регламентирующие обязанность арендодателя компенсировать ремонт в практически любых случаях, кроме тех, которые возникнут по вине нашего Клиента. Но этого мало: учитывая наличие в ситуации посредника, мы предложили дополнительно подписать договор поручительства собственника помещения за выполнение посредником своих обязательств. Это является фактической гарантией – обеспечением взыскания будущих выигранных в суде сумм за счет помещения.

Третьим обстоятельством было желание Клиента не оплачивать стоимость аренды до момента окончания ремонта и получения лицензии, ориентировочно до 1 декабря. Мы порекомендовали заключить предварительный договор субаренды помещения, так как кроме отсрочки платежа, обе стороны хотели заключить основной договор между другими сторонами: наш Клиент – зарегистрировать ООО, а посредник – стать предпринимателем на едином налоге.

После согласования всех деталей заказа и подготовки проекта предварительного договора аренды, наши юристы сопроводили переговорную стадию, так как именно на этом этапе заключение договора часто срываются – в большинстве своем люди не любят и не умеют обсуждать возможные негативные последствия. Но мы понимали, что наш Клиент очень заинтересован в помещении и мы не должны, защищая его интересы, прийти к невозможности заключения договора.

Мы провели стадию переговоров максимально деликатно, показали посреднику его заинтересованность в договоре поручительства и закрыли проект подписанием предварительного договора аренды помещения.

Юридическое сопровождение бизнес-процессов требует не только юридических знаний, но и понимания конечной цели осуществляемых действий. Мы постоянно совершенствуемся и в одном, и в другом аспекте нашей работы для того, чтобы обеспечить Клиентам максимальную полезность от наших консультаций и представительства интересов.

Написать автору письмо

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ВОПРОСЫ?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи