MainPublications of our law firmPublications in mediaLegal opinion on important provisions of the Ukrainian law “On Employment of Population” (for UBR)

Legal opinion on important provisions of the Ukrainian law “On Employment of Population” (for UBR)

Lawyer of law firm “Pravova Dopomoga” has written an article about bill “On Employment of Population” that had been adopted by the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine during the first reading. The article has been prepared at request of Ukrainian Business Resource.

On Employment of Population

It is available on UBR website under the link Translation from Russian (full text):

“Bill on employment of population is described by Sergiy Tigipko as such that “will create hundreds of thousands of new highly paid workplaces”. I cannot agree with the opinion that the innovations are of such significance since majority of the bill’s provisions are of declarative nature and duplicate current regulation. At the same time it is still possible to identify some positive aspects of the law.

First of all it is worth mentioning that the bill contains a number of provisions about reimbursement for employers that pay single contribution for obligatory state social insurance.

Thus, when hiring employees that belong to category of “insufficiently competitive on labour market” (those who have less than 10 years left until retirement, youth at the first job, incapacitated persons) for newly created jobs for the period which is not less than 2 years, the employer will have his single contribution for obligatory state social insurance reimbursed.

Besides when an employer is a small business entity (number of employees less than 50 persons and turnover up to 10 million euro) and it employs an unemployed person for a new position for the period of at least two years the law also establishes reimbursement of a single contribution for obligatory state social insurance reimbursed during the first year.

These provisions are beneficial to both employers and potential employees because savings related to single contribution will stimulate formalizing of labor relations and payment of “white” wages. However the government did not forget about its own interests: in order to receive reimbursement for single contribution payment, an employment has to be conducted due to assignments of the State Employment Service. This will significantly increase coefficient of its effectiveness since a great deal of employments will be completed with its help in order to save on single contribution payment.

The bill also stipulates that an employer who for the last year has created new workplaces and paid each employee wage in the amount of at least 3 minimum wages, in the next year will be able to pay 50% less of single contribution for each person that is employed for a newly created workplace. Such exemption will allow to lower taxation amount for many companies. But it is also beneficial due another fact – the government shows that it is eager to provide exemptions to companies which are developing and have high wages. This shows that the state is ready not only to support ineffective businesses but also to stimulate successful ones.

Authors of the bill, among other things took care of the direct procedure of employment by proposing a number of innovations:

  • State Employment Service will create the list of private employment agencies;
  • Only employers are allowed to pay for the services of agents;
  • Vacancy description is prohibited to include information about age of an applicant, gender related limitation (with some exceptions), provision of information about personal life.

Payment for agents’ services by an employer in the process of employment must exclude participation of agencies that charge applicants without provision of service. As for the vacancies announcements this will only cause difficulties in search of job since persons who seek for job will spend time for vacancies that are not suitable for them. Because missing of requirements in an announcement do not mean that the requirements are missing de-facto.

Another important issue is an employment of youth:

  • Students who have degree of “junior specialist,” “bachelor” or “master” will be entitled for up to 6 months of internship with inclusion of this internship into an employment record. And if an internship is paid for an employer is not obligated to pay a single contribution from students’ wages;
  • When providing jobs for a young specialists in rural area for at least three years he will be paid a one-time allowance in the amount of 5 minimum wages but such allowances will be paid only for the specialties defined by the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine.

In addition the bill provides development of state programs which are to secure creation of new workplaces. However the effectiveness of this tool can be rated only after its application.

Thus, even though the bill “On Employment of Population” at first glance is of declarative nature, it contains a number of amendments which are beneficial for both employers and employees. We definitely cannot say that proposed innovations will significantly change employment situation. The most important thing is for the proposed regulations to obtain effective mechanisms of implementation and for the reimbursements and exemptions related to single contribution not to share the fate of VAT, because in this case the innovations will cause only thousands on new lawsuits instead of workplaces.

This article should not be considered as a legal advice. It basically highlights important provisions of the bill “On Employment of Population”.

Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price

Related materials

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПубликации в СМИВажные положения Законопроекта "О занятости населения" (УБР)

Важные положения Законопроекта "О занятости населения" (УБР)

Юрист Юридической компании "Правовая помощь" по просьбе Украинского Бизнес Ресурса подготовил материал о Законопроекте "О занятости населения", который был принят Верховной Радой в первом чтении.

Законопроект о занятости населения

Статья доступна на сайте УБР по ссылке http://ubr.ua/business-practice/laws-and-business/tonkosti-zakona-o-zaniatosti-chto-horosho-a-chto-ploho-143582, также текст статьи доступен ниже:

"Законопроект о занятости населения позиционируется Сергеем Тигипко как такой, который "создаст сотни тысяч новых высокооплачиваемых рабочих мест". Не могу согласиться с тем, что подготовленные нововведения имеют столь значимый характер, ведь большинство норм данного законопроекта имеют декларативный характер и дублируют существующие положения законодательства. В то же время, некоторые позитивные моменты предложенного документа выделить можно.

Прежде всего, хотелось бы отметить, что законопроект содержит ряд положений о компенсации работодателям единого взноса на общеобязательное государственное социальное страхование (ЕСВ).

Так, при трудоустройстве на новые рабочие места на срок не менее двух лет граждан, которые относятся к категории "недостаточно конкурентоспособные на рынке труда" (те, кому до пенсии по возрасту осталось менее 10 лет, молодежь при первом трудоустройстве, инвалиды и другие) работодателю первый год будет компенсироваться ЕСВ.

Кроме того, при трудоустройстве субъектом малого предпринимательства (численность работников до 50 лиц и годовой оборот до 10 миллионов евро) безработного на новое рабочее место на срок не менее двух лет, закон также предусматривает компенсацию ЕСВ в течение первого года.

От этих положений выиграют и работодатели и соискатели – возможность экономии ЕСВ стимулирует официальное оформление трудовых отношений и выплату "белых" зарплат. Правда, правительство не забыло и о своих интересах: для того, чтобы получить компенсацию ЕСВ, трудоустройство необходимо будет проводить по направлению Государственной службой занятости. Это значительно повысит показатели ее работы, так как значительная часть трудоустройств с целью экономии на ЕСВ пойдет через нее.

Также законопроект предусматривает, что работодатель, который на протяжении года создал новые рабочие места и платил каждому работнику не менее 3 минимальных заработных плат, сможет в следующем году платить на 50% меньше ЕСВ на каждого трудоустроенного на новое рабочее место. Такая льгота позволит уменьшить налогообложение многим компаниям. Но она ценна еще по одной причине – правительство показывает, что готово давать льготы развивающимся компаниям с высоким уровнем заработных плат, это говорит о том, что государство готово стимулировать успешные бизнесы, а не только поддерживать неэффективные.

Разработчики законопроекта, среди прочего, озаботились непосредственно процедурой трудоустройства, предложив ряд новшеств:

  • Государственная служба занятости будет вести список частных агентств занятости;
  • оплачивать услуги посредников при трудоустройстве разрешено исключительно работодателям;
  • в рекламных объявлениях о вакансиях запрещено размещать информацию о возрасте соискателя, ограничений по половому признаку (за некоторыми исключениями), предоставлении ведомостей о личной жизни.

Оплата услуг посредников при трудоустройстве только работодателем должна исключить деятельность агентств, которые берут деньги с соискателей, не предоставляя по факту услуг по трудоустройству, и это, на мой взгляд, положительное предложение. Что же касается требований к объявлениям о вакансиях, то это только усложнит поиск работы, поскольку соискатели будут тратить свое время на вакансии, на которые они заведомо не подходят. Ведь не указание требований в объявлении не отменяет наличия самого требования у работодателя.

Отдельно стоит упомянуть о предлагаемых изменениях, которые касаются трудоустройства молодежи:

  • студенты, которые получили образовательно-квалификационный уровень "квалифицированный работник", "младший специалист", "бакалавр", "специалист", будут иметь право проходить стажировку до 6 месяцев с внесением данных о стажировке в трудовую книжку. При этом если стажировка будет оплачиваться, работодатель может не уплачивать ЕСВ с заработной платы такого студента;
  • при трудоустройстве молодого специалиста в сельской местности на срок не менее трех лет, ему будет выплачиваться разовая адресная в размере пяти минимальных заработных плат, но такие выплаты будут проводиться только для отдельных специальностей, определенных Кабинетом Министров Украины.

Кроме того, законопроект предусматривает разработку государственных целевых программ, которые предусматривают создание новых рабочих мест, но об эффективности данного инструмента можно будет говорить только после его применения государством.

Таким образом, мы видим, что законопроект "О занятости населения", несмотря на свой, на первый взгляд, декларативный характер, содержит ряд изменений, которые носят положительный характер как для работодателей, так и для работников. Сказать, что предложенные нововведения кардинально изменят ситуацию с занятостью населения, безусловно, нельзя. Главное, чтобы предложенные нормы впоследствии получили действенный механизм их реализации и вокруг компенсаций и льгот на ЕСВ не возникло ситуации, подобной с НДС. Потому что в таком случае нововведения принесут лишь тысячи новых судебных разбирательств, а не рабочих мест."

Данный материал не является исчерпывающей юридической консультацией, а лишь освещает важные положения Законопроекта "О занятости населения".

Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи