Is it possible to open a pharmacy at a filling station in Ukraine?

We were approached by a Client, the owner of a network of filling stations, with a very complex and at the same time interesting practical task - to open a pharmacy on the territory of the existing network of filling stations.

We faced an ambitious challenge: to find an opportunity to obtain a Pharmacy License, meeting all the licensing regulations for the location of pharmacies on the existing network of filling stations, which is not the case in Ukraine.

Of course, we faced understandable difficulties:

  • Firstly, a pharmacy can be located on the premises of health care facilities, health resorts, hotels, airports, railway stations and shopping malls, provided that sanitary and hygienic requirements established for pharmacies are met, which contradicts its placement on the territory of a filling station.

  • Secondly, the total minimum area of drugstores located in the city must be not less than 50 square meters, and the area of the sales area - not less than 18 square meters, and this is usually too large for a drugstore located on the territory of a filling station - the standard sales area of a filling station is about 100 sq. m.

In addition to room requirements, there are certain requirements for:

  • the qualifications of the pharmacy staff;

  • the presence of necessary conditions for free access to the premises for persons with disabilities and other groups of people with low mobility;

  • the availability of logistics and other aspects of the operation of the pharmacy, which is difficult to ensure in the territory of the filling station.

Our Client had previously consulted other lawyers whose verdict was unequivocal: this task is impossible.

Despite everything, we were ready for the challenge and understood that a solution could be found. However, the solution had to be absolutely legal and economically advantageous.

Having thoroughly studied the regulatory framework governing activities in this area, secured confirmations from the relevant state authorities, and determined the economic and marketing benefits, we found the best solution - to open a pharmacy branch in the territory of a filling station.

What it is and how it differs from a pharmacy - read below.

You may also like: Why Can a Pharmacy License Be Denied? 

Why have we chosen a pharmacy branch, and how to open one?

The pharmacy branch could be the best option, because in theory:

  • A pharmacy branch is a structural subdivision of a pharmacy, which can also sell medicines;

  • The Client didn’t need a license for a pharmacy branch, but could enter into a partnership with an existing pharmacy business, or open a pharmacy in a separate room on the territory of the filling station, as it happens in many shopping malls;

  • The area of the pharmacy branch can be from 18 square meters, and premises for staff from 8 square meters, and it can be placed on the territory of the filling station.

In addition, the presence of a medical office with a qualified doctor, a specialized professional (in our case, a therapist), and a pharmacy on the territory of the filling station in the current quarantine is a good marketing decision.

Of course, wishful thinking of opening a pharmacy at the filling station simply won’t do. As in any case of a unique business project, where the entrepreneur acts as a pioneer, you will have to conduct long negotiations with the state authorities. In addition, you will need to solve certain organizational problems:

  • A pharmacy branch is a health care facility, which must be created on the basis of medical and preventive institutions and operates together with the main pharmacy.

  • The drugs to pharmacy branches must be supplied only through the pharmacy to which such branches are subordinate.

  • Only pharmacists, senior pharmacists with appropriate education in the specialty "Pharmacy, industrial pharmacy" can dispense drugs at pharmacy branches.

Note: In addition to the pharmacist, the pharmacy branch must have a pharmacy manager. However, he or she may be replaced by a person with a higher education degree in a particular field of study.

  • The room of a pharmacy branch must be equipped with cabinets, refrigerator, safe or metal cabinet for storing medications, a place for sanitary treatment of hands, a cabinet for the separate storage of personal and technological clothing, a cabinet for storage of cleaning equipment separately by appointment - it all must be purchased and properly placed.

We needed to solve three important issues to translate the idea into action:

  • Can a filling station be made a health care facility?

  • How can a pharmacy branch be tied to a pharmacy?

  • How to reduce the staff of physician practice specialists to 1 position so that it is economically beneficial for the Client?

You may also like: Fines for Selling Medicines Without a License 

Is it possible to open a pharmacy branch on the territory of a filling station?

First of all, we consulted with the Ministry of Health and received confirmation of information about the possibility of issuing a Medical License for the Medical Center outside the filling station, with a doctor’s office at the filling station (area of 18 m2).

That is, to open a pharmacy branch, you need to open a medical center. Of course, subject to compliance with all necessary sanitary norms concerning the premises of pharmacies and doctors' offices. It can’t be opened directly on the territory of the filling station, but we have found a solution.

The algorithm for opening a medical center and pharmacy branch is as follows:

  • Registration of an LLC for further licensing;

  • Registration of all necessary documents for an LLC (a lease agreement, employment agreement with medical workers, etc.);

  • Obtaining an act of inspection of the sanitary-epidemiological service;

  • Obtaining a Medical License;

  • Conclusion of partnership with an already existing pharmacy business.

Since our team has more than 14 years of experience in opening health care facilities, we can find a unique solution to obtain a Medical License even in the most complicated cases. For example, we suggested dividing the address of the establishment into two blocks, one of which, including a therapist's office, was located on the territory of the filling station.

As for mandatory medical personnel, our Client saw his own benefit in hiring a therapist who would work at the filling station, so opening a health care facility and allocating a small area for it at the filling station would fully suit him.

After creating a health care facility, which can be done within about 1 month, you can proceed to the opening of the pharmacy. Here we have noted for the Client several important aspects of the procedure:

  • It will be necessary to take a responsible approach to the selection and arrangement of premises for a pharmacy, because it must meet the licensing requirements. Otherwise, no existing pharmacy business will be able to conduct activities there;

  • It is important to develop an agreement with the existing pharmacy beneficial for the Client and monitor the notification of the relevant state authorities and services regarding the opening of the pharmacy branch.

Note: There is also a third option - the Client can open his own pharmacy, which would be fully operational, and would provide the opportunity to operate even several pharmacy branches at different filling stations. However, so far it was not economically profitable for our Client, and he left such an option for the future.

The result of our company's work was a step-by-step guide for our Client on how to implement his business project. Now he is preparing the basis for further action.

We, in turn, are ready to continue to work with such an interesting case, as we can implement it not only in theory but also in practice.

Do you want to get a unique solution for your business? Don’t hesitate to contact us! We make the impossible possible, and simple at the same time.

Didn’t find an answer to your question?

Everything about obtaining a Pharmacy License.

Cost of Legal Consultations.

For corporate Clients we offer development of personalized service packages.

Publication date: 19/10/2021

We are ready to help you!

Contact us by mail [email protected], by phone number +38 044 499 47 99or by filling out the form:

Можно ли открыть аптеку на АЗК в Украине?

К нам обратился Клиент, владелец сети автозаправочных комплексов (АЗК), с очень сложной и одновременно интересной практической задачей - открыть аптеку на территории уже действующей сети АЗК.

Перед нами стояла амбициозная задача: найти возможность получить лицензию на аптеку, выполнив все лицензионные условия для размещения аптеки на уже действующей АЗК, примеров чего в Украине еще не было.

Конечно мы столкнулись с совершенно понятными трудностями:

  • Во-первых, размещение аптеки допускается в помещениях лечебно-профилактических учреждений, санаторно-курортных учреждений, гостиниц, аэропортов, вокзалов и в помещениях торговых центров, при условии соблюдения санитарно-гигиенических требований установленных для аптек, что само по себе противоречит размещению на территории АЗК.

  • Во-вторых, общая минимальная площадь помещения аптек, расположенных в городе, должно быть не менее 50 кв. метров, а площадь торгового зала - не менее 18 кв. метров, и это, как правило, слишком большая площадь для размещения аптеки на территории АЗК - стандартный торговый зал сетевой АЗК составляет около 100 кв.м.

Кроме требований к помещению, есть определенные требования к:

  • квалификации персонала аптеки;

  • наличию необходимых условий для свободного доступа лиц с инвалидностью и других маломобильных групп населения в помещение;

  • наличию материально-технической базы и других аспектов функционирования аптеки, что трудно обеспечить на территории АЗК.

Наш Клиент ранее уже обращался к другим юристам, вердикт которых был однозначным - такую идею невозможно реализовать.

Несмотря на все, мы были готовы к вызову и понимали, что решение найти возможно. Однако данное решение должно быть абсолютно прозрачным с точки зрения законности, и совершенно разумным с точки зрения экономической выгоды.

Тщательно изучив нормативную базу, регулирующую деятельность в этой сфере, подстраховавшись подтверждениями от соответствующих государственных органов, и определив экономическую и маркетинговую выгоду, мы нашли оптимальный выход - открыть аптечный пункт на территории АЗК.

Что это такое, и чем отличается от аптеки - далее.

Интересно: Почему могут отказать в выдаче лицензии на аптеку?

Почему мы выбрали именно аптечный пункт, и как его открыть?

Аптечный пункт мог стать оптимальным вариантом, ведь в теории:

  • Аптечный пункт - это структурное подразделение аптеки, который тоже может осуществлять продажу лекарственных средств;

  • Для открытия аптечного пункта Клиент мог не получать собственную лицензию, а заключить партнерство с уже существующим аптечным бизнесом, или открыть аптеку в отдельном помещении на территории АЗК, как это происходит во многих ТЦ;

  • Площадь аптечного пункта может быть от 18 кв. метров, а помещения для персонала от 8 кв. метров, и это возможно разместить в рамках территории АЗК.

К тому же, наличие медицинского кабинета с квалифицированным врачом, профильным специалистом (в нашем случае врач терапевт), наличие аптечного пункта на территории АЗК в условиях действующего карантина - удачное маркетинговое решение.

Разумеется просто желания открыть аптечный пункт на АЗК - мало. Как в любом случае, когда бизнес-проект является уникальным, а предприниматель - первопроходцем, придется вести долгие переговоры с государственными органами. К тому же нужно будет решить определенные организационные проблемы:

  • Аптечный пункт является учреждением здравоохранения, создается на базе лечебно-профилактических учреждений и функционирует вместе с главной аптекой.

  • Поступления лекарственных средств в аптечные пункты осуществляется только через аптеку, которой такие пункты подчиняются.

  • Отпуск лекарственных средств в аптечных пунктах могут осуществлять только фармацевты, провизоры, имеющие соответствующее образование по специальности “Фармация, промышленная фармация”.

Примечание: кроме фармацевта в аптечном пункте должен быть заведующий аптекой. Однако его может заменить лицо, имеющее документ о высшем образовании определенного законом направления.

  • Помещение аптечного пункта обязательно оборудуется шкафами, холодильником, сейфом или металлическим шкафом для хранения лекарственных средств, местом для санитарной обработки рук, шкафом для раздельного хранения личной и технологической одежды, шкафом для хранения уборочного инвентаря отдельно по назначению - это все нужно закупить и правильно разместить.

Перед нами встали три крайне важных вопроса для воплощения идеи в жизнь:

  • Можно ли сделать АЗК лечебно-профилактическим учреждением?

  • Как привязать аптечный пункт к аптеке?

  • Как сократить штат специалистов врачебной практики до 1 должности, чтобы это было экономически выгодно для Клиента?

Интересно: Штрафы за торговлю лекарствами без лицензии

Открыть аптечный пункт на территории заправочной станции - это реально?

Первоочередно мы обратились за консультацией в Минздрав и получили подтверждение информации о возможности выдачи медицинской лицензии на Медицинский центр за пределами АЗК, с кабинетом врача на АЗК (площадью 18 м2).

То есть для открытия аптечного пункта нужно открыть медицинский центр. Конечно при условии выполнения всех необходимых санитарных норм касательно помещений аптечных пунктов и кабинетов врачей. Его невозможно открыть полностью на территории АЗК, но мы нашли выход.

Алгоритм действия по открытию медицинского центра и аптечного пункта должен выглядеть следующим образом:

  • Регистрация ООО для дальнейшего получения лицензии;

  • Оформление всех необходимых документов на ООО (Договора аренды помещения, Трудового договора с медработниками, и др.);

  • Получение акта осмотра санитарно-эпидемиологической службы;

  • Получение медицинской лицензии;

  • Заключение партнерства с уже существующим аптечным бизнесом.

Поскольку наша команда имеет более 14 лет опыта в открытии медицинских учреждений, мы можем найти уникальное решение для получения медицинской лицензии даже в сложных случаях. Например, мы предложили разделить адрес заведения на два блока, один из которых, включавший кабинет терапевта, находился на территории АЗК.

Что касается обязательного медицинского персонала, наш Клиент видел собственную выгоду в найме терапевта, который работал бы на АЗК, поэтому открытие медучреждения и выделение под него незначительной территории на АЗК полностью его бы устроило.

После создания медицинского учреждения, что возможно осуществить в срок около 1 месяца, можно будет перейти к открытию аптечного пункта. Здесь мы отметили для Клиента несколько важных аспектов процесса:

  • Нужно будет ответственно подойти к выбору и обустройству помещения под аптечный пункт, ведь он должен отвечать лицензионным требованиям. В противном случае ни один существующий аптечный бизнес не будет иметь возможность на проведение там деятельности;

  • Важно разработать выгодный для Клиента договор с существующей аптекой и проконтролировать уведомление соответствующих государственных органов и служб относительно открытия пункта.

Примечание: Существует и третий вариант - можно открыть для Клиента свое аптечное заведение, которое полноценно функционировало бы, и предоставляло бы возможность осуществлять деятельность даже нескольким аптечным пунктам на разных АЗК. Однако пока это экономически невыгодно для нашего Клиента, и он оставил такую ??опцию на будущее.

Результатом работы нашей компании стала пошаговая инструкция для нашего Клиента по воплощению его бизнес-проекта. Сейчас он готовит базу для дальнейших действий.

Мы, в свою очередь, готовы и дальше работать с таким интересным кейсом, поскольку можем воплотить его не только в теории, но и на практике.

Вы хотите получить уникальное решение для вашего бизнеса? Обращайтесь к нам! Мы делаем невозможное возможным, к тому же простым.

Не нашли ответа на свой вопрос?

Все о получении лицензии на аптеку.

Стоимость консультации специалиста.

Для корпоративных Клиентов предлагается разработка персональных пакетов услуг.

Дата публикации: 19/10/2021

Мы готовы Вам помочь!

Свяжитесь с нами по почте [email protected], по номеру телефона +38 044 499 47 99 или заполнив форму: