MainPublications of our law firmPublications in mediaAdvertising of medicines in Ukraine: how not to violate the requirements

Advertising of medicines in Ukraine: how not to violate the requirements

Andriy Buzynnyi, a lawyer of our firm wrote an article about fines for advertising in pharmaceutical field for “Law and Business”.

Text of the article (translation):

There have already been numerous occasions when pharmacists had to pay significant fines for violations of the Law of Ukraine “On advertising”. At the same time its provisions have such unclear wordings that it is extremely difficult to stay within their limits. Analysis of the legislation and judicial practice will help to minimize the risks.

Violations are hard to avoid

There is a saying that a good product is in no need of advertising. But at the same time this does not mean that an advertised product is bad. Advertising itself has already become the engine of trade and it is hard to say what could possibly substitute it. No wonder that there has been adopted a new law. Some specific types of goods are even covered by entire articles of the law. It may appear that such scrupulous regulation of the field leaves no questions to ask but in practice these clauses leave much to be desired.

In particular advertising of drugs and medical devices is covered not only by the general articles of the law “On advertising” but also by the entire Article 21. It makes perfect sence since we talk about health and life of people who tend to self treat themselves based on information which they get from advertisements. However violations of provisions of the law are very rare. The last of the most notorious cases: the State Inspection of Ukraine on Consumer Protection imposed a fine in the amount of 16 million UAH on a pharmaceutical firm for advertising of a new drug.

It is doubtful that there is a person who thinks that pharmaceutical companies deliberately violate the legislation. It is better to say that preparation of advertising material requires search of a solution which would allow to provide as much information as possible and in the manner so that its form could benefit sales within the limits that are set by the legislation. In other words a pharmaceutical producer is willing to balance on the edge between what is permitted and what is not. However sometimes the advertiser and controlling authorities have absolutely opposite understanding of where this edge is.

Article 21 of the Law “On advertising” includes a number of provisions which define this edge quite unclearly. It is worth to pay close attention to some of them.

Search of specialization

Section 13 of Article 21 provides that its provisions are not applied to advertising of drugs and medical devices “which are placed in specialized periodicals that are intended to be used in medical establishments and by doctors”. At the same time there exists no definition of specialized periodicals. It is possible to define the term only by means of collecting bits of information about criteria of inclusion of a periodical into the category of specialized ones from different regulatory acts.

For example the Law “On protection of public morality” provides that a periodical can be defined as a specialized one if it is systematically published on a particular topic or this topic is the major one for this periodical. On the other hand the letter number 32-32-69 of the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine dated 25.02.2010 provides that the state registration certificate of a specialized periodical includes special category of readers or special thematic focus.

Thus, an advertiser should check these facts prior to placement of information in periodicals that call themselves specialized.

Issues of interpretation

Next aspect which is worth to pay attention to is absence of list of incurable deceases and those that are hard to treat in the legislation. At the same time Section 5 of Article 21 of the Law prohibits an advertisement to refer to therapeutic effects in regard of such deceases.

This is why an advertiser should consider the fact that if a dispute emerges the court can make its rulings based on the Law “On protection of people against infectious diseases”, order of the Ministry of Healthcare of Ukraine “On approval of list of especially dangerous, dangerous infectious and parasitic human diseases and carriage of pathogens of these diseases” and some other “related” regulatory acts. More information about such position can be found in the resolution of Kiev Administrative Court of Appeal dated 6.06.2013 in the case number 826/403/13-а. Servants of Themis basically consider terms “especially dangerous and dangerous deceases” and “incurable deceases and those that are hard to treat” to be identical.

It is important to find out whether or not the commercial includes information about therapeutic effect (Section 5 of Article 21). In other words, whether or not the commercial provides information about ability of a drug to cure the particular decease that is hard to treat.  In this regard one will need knowledge of law, medicine, linguistics as well as psychology in order to understand whether or not a consumer can understand the provided information in a certain way. While advertisements in printed mass media require only lexical analysis of the text, TV commercials cause troubles due to the fact that complex of audio and visual information is intended to form a particular perception. In this situation we can talk about semantic analysis or analysis of perception.

Such analysis requires special knowledge and if the case is taken to court it is necessary to make a request about appointment of expertise. But the best thing to do is to get an expertise report at the stage of advertisement creation in order to minimize the possibility of complaints from the controlling authorities.

Sometimes, when hearing cases related to disputable aspects of interpretation of Article 21 of the Law “On advertising” the courts may support the advertiser. Such situation can be exemplified by the decision of the Lviv Administrative Court of Appeal dated 27.07.2010 in case number 26038/10/9104. The case was about legality of doctor’s image placement in clinic’s advertisement. The court noted that Article 21 prohibits participation of doctors and persons who imitate their appearance in advertisements of drugs, devices and methods of prophylactic, diagnostics, treatment. At the same time such participation is allowed in advertisements of a medical establishment even despite the fact that clinic’s services were mentioned as well.

It is obvious that many provisions of Article 21 require amendments. In general, the advertising material has to be based on legal expertise of information that is to be conducted with consideration of position of controlling authorities and judicial practice. At the same time creativity of marketing specialists should stay within limits defined by lawyers.

The material is related to firm’s service of Legal analysis of medicine advertisements.
Contact the author

Any questions left?

Don't waste your time and entrust your legal matters to the team of professionals!

Learn about the price


Related materials

ASK LAWYER A QUESTION

SIDEBAR MENU
RELEVANT EXPERIENCE RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

ГлавнаяПубликации нашей юридической фирмыПубликации в СМИРеклама лекарственных средств в Украине: как не нарушить требования

Реклама лекарственных средств в Украине: как не нарушить требования

Юрист нашей компании Андрей Бузинный подготовил для издания "Закон и бизнес" статью о штрафах за рекламу в фармацевтическом секторе.

Оригинал статьи доступен по ссылке - http://zib.com.ua/ru/38554-za_kakie_netochnosti_v_reklame_farmacevticheskie_kompanii_pl.html. Полный текст:

Уже неоднократно фармацевтам приходилось выплачивать существенные штрафы за нарушения закона «О рекламе». Вместе с тем его нормы прописаны настолько нечетко, что остаться в их рамках чрезвычайно сложно. Анализ судебной практики и положений законодательства должен минимизировать риски.

Сложно не нарушить

Говорят, что хороший товар не нуждается в рекламе, но это еще не означает, что товар, который рекламируют, — плохой. Реклама как явление прочно заняла нишу двигателя торговли, и трудно сказать, способно ли что-то ее заменить. Не зря был разработан отдельный закон, а некоторым специфическим видам товара посвящены еще и отдельные статьи. Казалось бы, при таком скрупулезном регулировании данной сферы вопросы возникать не должны, однако, как показывает практика, нормы выписаны не так детально, как хотелось бы.

В частности, рекламе лекарственных средств и медицинских изделий посвящены не только общие нормы закона «О рекламе», но и отдельно ст.21. Не удивительно, ведь речь идет о здоровье и жизни граждан, которые склонны заниматься самолечением на основании информации, почерпнутой из рекламы. Тем не менее нарушения требований закона нередки. Последнее из самих громких дел: Госпотребинспекция наложила штраф в размере 16 млн грн. на одну из фармацевтических фирм за рекламу нового лекарства.

Вряд ли найдется человек, который скажет, что фармкомпании осознанно идут на нарушение законодательства. Правильней будет говорить, что подготовка рекламного материала сопряжена с поиском такого решения, которое позволит в рамках закона донести потребителю максимально возможный объем информации и в максимально «продающей» форме. Иными словами, фармпроизводитель для достижения желаемого эффекта старается балансировать на грани дозволенного. Однако порой понимание рекламодателем и контролирующим органом того, где проходит эта грань, диаметрально противоположно.

Статья 21 закона «О рекламе» содержит целый ряд положений, которые эту самую грань определяют очень нечетко. На некоторых из них следует остановиться подробнее.

Поиск специализации

Согласно ч.13 ст.21 положения данной статьи не распространяются на рекламу лекарственных средств и медизделий, «которая размещается в специализированных изданиях, предназначенных для медучреждений и врачей». В то же время нигде не указывается, какое издание можно считать специализированным. Сформулировать определение данного термина можно, лишь собрав по крупицам из разных нормативных актов критерии отнесения издания к специализированному.

Так, закон «О защите общественной морали» устанавливает, что специализированным является то издание, которое систематически пишет на определенную тему или данная тема является основной для издания. В свою очередь Минюст в письме от 25.02.2010 №32-32-69 указывает, что для специализированного издания в свидетельстве о госрегистрации указывается специальная категория читателей или специальная тематическая направленность.

Таким образом, рекламодателю стоит проверять данные факты перед тем, как размещать информацию в изданиях, именующих себя специализированными.

Вопрос трактовки

Следующий аспект, на который необходимо обратить внимание, — это отсутствие в законодательстве перечня неизлечимых и трудноизлечимых болезней. В то же время ч.5 ст.21 закона запрещает в рекламе ссылаться на «терапевтические эффекты относительно таких заболеваний».

Поэтому рекламодателю следует учесть, что в случае возникновения спора, суды могут руководствоваться законом «О защите населения от инфекционных болезней», приказом Минздрава «Об утверждении Перечня особо опасных, опасных инфекционных и паразитарных болезней человека и носительства возбудителей этих болезней» и некоторыми другими «смежными» нормативными актами. Подробнее о такой позиции можно узнать, ознакомившись с постановлением Киевского апелляционного административного суда от 6.06.2013 по делу №826/403/13-а. Служители Фемиды, по сути, отождествляют такие понятия, как «особо опасные и опасные болезни» и «неизлечимые и трудноизлечимые болезни».

Необходимо выяснить, содержится ли в рекламе информация о терапевтическом эффекте (ч.5 ст.21). Иными словами, говорится ли в рекламе, что лекарственное средство лечит конкретную трудноизлечимую болезнь. В этом аспекте понадобятся знания на стыке юриспруденции, медицины и лингвистики, а также психологии, чтобы понять, способен ли потребитель воспринимать поданную информацию тем или иным образом. Если в случае с рекламой в печатных средствах массовой информации задача сводится к лексическому анализу текста, то в случае с телерекламой сложнее, поскольку комплекс аудиовизуальной информации направлен на формирование определенного восприятия. В таком случае можно уже говорить о семантическом анализе или анализе восприятия.

Для подобного рода исследований понадобятся специальные знания, поэтому, если дело дошло до суда, необходимо будет ходатайствовать о назначении экспертизы. Но лучше всего получить подобное экспертное заключение на стадии разработки рекламы, чтобы минимизировать возможность возникновения претензий со стороны контролирующих органов.

Иногда суды в ходе разбирательств, связанных со спорными моментами толкования ст.21 закона «О рекламе», встают на сторону рекламодателя. Примером тому может быть решение Львовского апелляционного административного суда от 27.07.2010 №26038/10/9104. Предметом спора была правомерность размещения изображения врача в рекламе клиники. Суд отметил, что ст.21 запрещает участие врачей и лиц, имитирующих их внешний вид, в рекламе лекарственных средств, медизделий и методов профилактики, диагностики, лечения. В то же время в рекламе медучреждения такое участие допустимо даже несмотря на то, что попутно указывались непосредственно услуги клиники.

Очевидно, что многие пункты ст.21 требуют доработки. В целом основой подготовки рекламного материала должна стать юридическая экспертиза информации, которую необходимо проводить с учетом позиции контролирующих органов и судебной практики. При этом креатив маркетологов должен будет разумно уложиться в рамки, очерченные юристами.

Материал связан с услугой компании "Юридический анализ рекламы лекарственных средств".
Написать автору письмо

Все еще остаются вопросы?

Может хватит тратить время и пора обратиться к профессионалам?

Узнать стоимость


Связанная практика

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЮРИСТУ

Доп. меню
Связанная практика Услуги по теме статьи